Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

3 monitors, 1 video card?


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 legend_jo

legend_jo

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 117 posts
  • Location:Dallas, TX

Posted 19 November 2009 - 12:52 PM

I am thinking of running 3 displays from my PC. I only have an AGP port in the box that I am going to do this with.

I was thinking of this card:
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16814161284

Does anyone know if I will be able to use all three video outs( DVI, VGA, and HDMI) at the same time?

Thanks
MSI P45 Platinum / QX9650/ 4GB DDR2 1066 OCZ Reaper / XFX HD6950/ Antec TruePower 1000W/ OS - Velociratper 150GB/ Media Storage - 1TB WD Green

#2 Timmy94

Timmy94

    Clock Me Higher

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 911 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia

Posted 19 November 2009 - 12:59 PM

I am fairly sure that is not possible. The max on that card is 2 monitors. The new HD 5000 series can do it with the new eyefinity tech. [3 monitors on one card] So maybe the 5770 would be a viable option.

Asus GTX 295
Acer 24" + Acer 19"
Coolermaster CM 690
Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3P
4GB Patriot Viper-2 1600
Intel Core i7 860 @ 2.94Ghz
Great Wall 700W + TT 450W VGA


#3 unknownuser200

unknownuser200

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1093 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:scranton ,pa

Posted 19 November 2009 - 01:01 PM

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16814102865 for 20$ more you can
Coolermaster Cosmos S
Asus Rampage Extreme x48
Intel Q9550 @ 4.2ghz
4x1gb OCZ Gold 1333
2 Sapphire 4890 vapor-x in crossfire
WD green 1tb
OCZ Z series 1000w
Gateway Xhd3000
Windows 7 Rc 64bit


That's not a optical drive that's a dollar bill slot!

#4 legend_jo

legend_jo

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 117 posts
  • Location:Dallas, TX

Posted 19 November 2009 - 01:05 PM

Problem is the machine I am planning to do this on is AGP only :(....that card won't work for this box.
MSI P45 Platinum / QX9650/ 4GB DDR2 1066 OCZ Reaper / XFX HD6950/ Antec TruePower 1000W/ OS - Velociratper 150GB/ Media Storage - 1TB WD Green

#5 Nemo

Nemo

    Will Fold 4 Food

  • Honorary Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Franklin, TN

Posted 19 November 2009 - 01:42 PM

Matrox Triplehead2go - not a cheap solution but it gets the job done.

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83GHz / ASUS P5Q Deluxe / Patriot Extreme Performance 2GB PC2-9600 DDR2-1200MHz / 2x Seagate ST3160827AS 160GB RAID 1 / Seagate ST31000340AS 1TB
Corsair TX750W / Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5 / SilverStone TJ05 / Scythe Zipang 140mm CPU Cooler / ASUS VH202T-P 20" widescreen monitor (x2) / XP Pro SP 3
"however, i cannot claim to be such a fish as i am not a fish at all..." - hardnrg,Jul 4 2005, 02:49 PM
 

Posted Image

Posted Image

Follow OCC on Posted Image
Subscribe to the OCC Newsletter

Lucky Mudder Race 2013


#6 MasterRex862

MasterRex862

    I love OCC <3

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 552 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, FL

Posted 19 November 2009 - 02:22 PM

Do you have any available PCI slots? You needn't run all three monitors off of the same video card. You can purchase a 'main' gaming-grade graphics card for your AGP slot and stuff a cheap-o graphics card in a free PCI slot.

I don't like mushrooms, so I only ate the snails.

Posted Image

Core 2 Duo e6750 @ 3GHz :: MSI P6N SLI (650i) :: 4 x 1GB G.Skill DDR2 800 :: 8800GTS G92 :: Acer Ferrari F-20 20" [P-MVA] :: Ultra Aluminus Case
Bose 201 Series IV :: harman/kardon AVR 45 :: Cerwin-Vega HT-PWR12



#7 llhuskyll

llhuskyll

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 61 posts

Posted 25 November 2009 - 03:20 AM

err hi there :)

if run 2 monitors on a video card will it lag when playing game?

#8 xchrissypoox

xchrissypoox

    Not new member.

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 846 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Texas

Posted 25 November 2009 - 03:29 AM

err hi there :)

if run 2 monitors on a video card will it lag when playing game?

You should've started a new thread, The answer though is depends on what you're doing and how powerful the videocard is, but I have watched hulu while playing WoW with my laptops 8600m gt so you probably can, start a new thread or PM me if you have further questiongs
Posted Image