Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Data Recovery?


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Renigade

Renigade

    Seminole

  • Folding Member
  • 702 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 19 November 2009 - 01:22 AM

Came home from work and the PC didnt recognize the drive it did not see any of it. My RMA is being shipped from Seagate but before I send the old one back is there anything I can do to retrieve over 80 gigs of football games? I was a retard and never backed them up to my NAS.. PC does not recognize the drive from windows or the bios screen.
The guy at Seagate said something about board swaps or or plate swaps..??? This sucks 10 Games recorded in highdef just gone.....
I pray someone will have a pearl of wisdom that will save my sanity not to mention the 3hrs per game of editing i did.....

Just a Derpy Gamer


#2 Renigade

Renigade

    Seminole

  • Folding Member
  • 702 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 19 November 2009 - 01:33 PM

what I figured .. nothing can be done..

Just a Derpy Gamer


#3 paulktreg

paulktreg

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4003 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Clitheroe, UK.

Posted 19 November 2009 - 01:45 PM

Did you try the board swap?

If you can get hold of another HDD thats the same as the faulty one you could try swapping the printed circuit board. If it's an electronic fault and not mechanical it may do the trick?

Cheers

Paul

i7 920/GA-X58A-UD3R/3x2GB Corsair/XFX HD7950/Seagate 1TB/Fractal Design Define R3 Case/Seasonic X-Series 760W/Acer H235H Monitor/Windows 10


#4 Nemo

Nemo

    Will Fold 4 Food

  • Honorary Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Franklin, TN

Posted 19 November 2009 - 01:46 PM

How much are those games worth to you? There are data recovery services that might be able to recover the drive contents if you're willing to pay for it and they're not cheap.

You could try to locate an identical drive with the same firmware version and try to swap out the controller to see if that would allow you to recover the files.

EDIT: I see Paul beat me to it...

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83GHz / ASUS P5Q Deluxe / Patriot Extreme Performance 2GB PC2-9600 DDR2-1200MHz / 2x Seagate ST3160827AS 160GB RAID 1 / Seagate ST31000340AS 1TB
Corsair TX750W / Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5 / SilverStone TJ05 / Scythe Zipang 140mm CPU Cooler / ASUS VH202T-P 20" widescreen monitor (x2) / XP Pro SP 3
"however, i cannot claim to be such a fish as i am not a fish at all..." - hardnrg,Jul 4 2005, 02:49 PM
 

Posted Image

Posted Image

Follow OCC on Posted Image
Subscribe to the OCC Newsletter

Lucky Mudder Race 2013


#5 Phil

Phil

    No longer animated :(

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2751 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:So. Kent CT USA

Posted 19 November 2009 - 01:47 PM

I never call a drive dead until I've tried hooking it up USB.
The real cow king.

Posted Image

Antec P182, Asus Commando Green MB, Intel Core2 Quad 2.66 Ghz, Freezer 7 Pro CPU cooler, Corsair DDR2, nVidia GeForce 8800 GTX OC, 2 WD Raptors 160GB, CoolerMaster 750W PS

#6 Comp Dude2

Comp Dude2

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1998 posts

Posted 19 November 2009 - 02:48 PM

What about the fridge/freezer trick? (cool it down considerably, stick it in a sock to keep it cool, then get the data off asap before it warms and stops working again)

Edited by Comp Dude2, 19 November 2009 - 02:48 PM.

Posted Image


#7 kingdingeling

kingdingeling

    King of the Autobahn

  • Folding Member
  • 10258 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hannover, Germany

Posted 19 November 2009 - 03:06 PM

What about the fridge/freezer trick? (cool it down considerably, stick it in a sock to keep it cool, then get the data off asap before it warms and stops working again)

:withstupid: That works often!

I guess I have no excuse for not being as awesome as King... - iKillSteal

Seriously, big credit goes out to King for maintaining this list. He puts a lot of work into this thing and he deserves our thanks! - Verran

RIP

| ThinkPad X1 Carbon | Core i5-4210U | 8GB DDR3L-1600 | Intel HD4400 | 256GB SSD | 14" WQHD |


#8 MasterRex862

MasterRex862

    I love OCC <3

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 552 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, FL

Posted 20 November 2009 - 08:44 AM

Why not wait till the RMA drive has hit your doorstep to try the controller board swap? Hell, call the company and be honest about it.

Does the drive 'rattle' at all when shaken? Chances are it's not going to be worth the effort if the arm wasn't in locked position when the drive failed. :(

I don't like mushrooms, so I only ate the snails.

Posted Image

Core 2 Duo e6750 @ 3GHz :: MSI P6N SLI (650i) :: 4 x 1GB G.Skill DDR2 800 :: 8800GTS G92 :: Acer Ferrari F-20 20" [P-MVA] :: Ultra Aluminus Case
Bose 201 Series IV :: harman/kardon AVR 45 :: Cerwin-Vega HT-PWR12



#9 wevsspot

wevsspot

    I'm trying to be helpful.... really I am

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16283 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 20 November 2009 - 08:54 AM

Renigade,

Not to over simplify your problem, but did you try a different sata/ide cable and did you try a different controller on the m/b? If that fails, once your new HDD arrives, go ahead and reinstall the OS on the new drive and before you start tearing the old drive apart to harvest the circuit board you can try plugging it in to another one of your sata/ide ports and see if you can get anything off of it.

As also mentioned previously, if you have an esata enclosure you can try usb/esata connections to see if the drive is detected. If all that fails I guess you'll have to try the freezer trick or the board swap.

Good luck.
40335406303_9d0700d9e9.jpg

#10 Renigade

Renigade

    Seminole

  • Folding Member
  • 702 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 20 November 2009 - 02:32 PM

Yes i tried different cables. Got the drive yesterday. The drive they Sent me is Firmware SD1A and the old Drive is SD15. I will install OS on the new drive then add bad drive to see if that works . Then I will try the freezer trick. There are no issues with condensation? How long should it go in for? Freezer? Fridge?
I do not have a SATA external enclosure to try USB.

Just a Derpy Gamer


#11 Renigade

Renigade

    Seminole

  • Folding Member
  • 702 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 November 2009 - 03:10 AM

Left it in freezer for 8 hours then tried it.. no luck... sounded like it wanted to read but still did not recognize it.
The replacement drive however works fine..
Guess the last thing I need to try is get an External USB enclosure?

Just a Derpy Gamer


#12 Phil

Phil

    No longer animated :(

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2751 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:So. Kent CT USA

Posted 22 November 2009 - 05:01 AM

Or just get an adapter kit. Those things are handy to have around.
The real cow king.

Posted Image

Antec P182, Asus Commando Green MB, Intel Core2 Quad 2.66 Ghz, Freezer 7 Pro CPU cooler, Corsair DDR2, nVidia GeForce 8800 GTX OC, 2 WD Raptors 160GB, CoolerMaster 750W PS