ubuntu/7

mitchellbechtel

prefacing this whole thread with the following. im a total noob to OS.

first off, im going to be building a new gaming rig soon, but i'll still be going to school. so i'd like to be able to partition my hard drive into two separate parts, one for school and one for gaming. for example. when im on the school partition of the HD i would only want a word processor and browser. gaming would have all the entertainment side of it.

by partitioning windows 7 on the gaming side and ubuntu on the school side, would this be possible or...?

Do you have to use Ubuntu? Windows 7 does all of that just as well, and if your not very good with computers, you probably shouldn't try using Linux.

By the way it is possible and not even all that hard, but Linux isn't very simple to learn.

well the reason why i wanted to partition is because i want to be able to explore different operating systems. I won't say "good" with computers in the sense that i can write code or anything like that but im a fairly intelligent guy, just my mind likes to wander so i figured if i just put one operating system with barebones stuff only related to school and then another with all my entertainment, it would deter me from starting to play counterstrike when i should be writing the paper due tomorrow. get what i mean? :D

Yeah I know what you mean. I did the same thing once but didn't like having to relearn how to do things so I just uninstalled it. Just google "dual boot Ubuntu" and you will probably get a bunch of guides on how to set it up. I probably won't be of much help, so just wait for all of the Linux gurus to get on and they can probably help you with it.

it would deter me from starting to play counterstrike when i should be writing the paper due tomorrow. get what i mean? :D

this, and learning Linux type OSs, are reasons enough to dual boot Ubuntu...