Oc'ing my 6400x2 BE on formula crosshair 2 mobo

Nakchee

Can anyone give a complete overclocking noob some advice please as this is my first time trying it,i have an athlon 6400 x2 atm but am considering an upgrade to either the 955 be or the 965 be which i intend to o/c as well,but first i wouldnt mind a bit of practise on my existing procesor,here are my specs:

AMD ATHLON 6400 [email protected] 3214.7 mhz

Thermaltake toughpower modular 750w PSU

Asus formula crosshair 2 (rog)n-force 780a SLI

2x2GB Corsair XMS2 DHX 800mhz

Thermaltake v1 cooler

Geforce 8800gt

I have looked through the forums to gather some information,but would like to know for sure which configs would work best with my setup before i actually do any o'c'ing,also just wondering which memory config is best to use when oc'ing...dual or single channel. Any advice will be greatly aprreciated,and i am hoping to be enjoying the benefits of overclocking very soon :)

To be honest. You haven't exactly picked the best processor to learn on. The reason being that due to its already fairly high clock speed, there is not a lot of room to grow with it. I have seem stable OCing of this processor at 3.5GHz much further requires a lot of voltage upping which isn't healthy in the long run. Especially without proper cooling.

I would save up your pennies to get the new processor (don't waste your money on the 965, get the 955), read as much as you can about overclocking with your motherboard etc.

Good luck!

thanks for taking the time to reply,but i would still like to try with this processor just so i can get use to doing it,if it helps it might be the black edition,i know it wont make a lot of difference but even a small increase will make me happy lol,cpuid reports it as athlon x2 6400 windsor,Everest on the other hand reports it as DualCore AMD Athlon 64 X2 Black Edition, 3215 MHz (16 x 201) 6400+,

If it is the Black Edition OCing is quite simple. You up the multiplier for the CPU. Do not touch the FSB.