S-video To Vga Converter

CoolBlue

hey this is a quick question but i googled it and came up with nothing. Is there such a thing as a s-video to vga converter? i have a radeon 7000 with vga and s-video out and i want to know if i can hook up another monitor to it:/ any help?

**edit**

i know they make ones that convert a lot of stuff, but thats not what i need and i dont have the cash. something under 20 bucks that will simply convert these two signals... :bah:

Edited by CoolBlue

i know there is to standard video cables for tv. but i do not think that there are svid to vga. i could be mistaken. I wouldent however use 2 monitors on your card because your going to notice a big preformance drop. w/ your card.

I'm no expert by any means in this but I would think a HUGE drop in performance because the card would have to process twice the information.. I could be way off so don't hold me to what I've said (typed, actually :P).

heres a pdf brochure on your card. http://www.ati.com/products/brochures/R7000Brochure.pdf

If you look on the second page it says.

Available configurations

vga only output

vga and tv/vcr output

This applies to all the different pci and agp flavors of this card.

So my comclusion is...

Sorry bub. No multiple monitor for you ;(

Edited by andrusk

Sorry bub. No multiple monitor for you ;(

first of all, thanks for lookin that up. i guess mine would be the 64mb one with vga and tv/vcr out, so i could power a tv and a monitor with it. what my goal was was to change the tv out (svideo) to a vga output, that was i could use it with the other monitor that i have lying around.

imma be sad if i cant get my multi monitor :(

maybe i should get that new geforce xt card coming out? :unsure:

youd definetly be better off buring a new video card. And as far as converting the tv signal to a monitor signal, I will say that anything is possible, but i have never hard of that being done.

Edited by andrusk