Setting CPU affinity to improve video recording in games

Hey guys! This is something I've wondered for a good while, and I decided it's time to ask it.

I've been cautious of setting the affinity of processes through the task manager because it's something I've never done before. I use xfire to record parts of games, and maybe to begin using the broadcasting feature in the near future, but the games performance takes a hefty blow, along with the playback of the recorded video.

I was wondering how safe it is to set the game to one or two cores, and then setting xfire to utilize another seperate core, and if it is safe, whether or not it will actually help performance at all. Last of all, is this change permanent, or is there another way of making the change permanent =3

I'm running an Intel C2Q Q8200.

Many thanks!

What games are you running where it gives you access to each core. For the most part many games out there still use 1 core and that fact that all the boxes may be checked is to allow the manager to switch between cores or allow a program to be set to run ONLY on a specific core. As far as coordenating off one core to handle a specific task I have never tried that but you probably wouldn't notice a difference in performance, in fact you would probably notice a drop in performace since the system to would have compencate for the timing required in processing a specific task.

If anoyne else has any ides I may be very wrong on this concept :D

What games are you running where it gives you access to each core.

It's not that the games specifically let me configure which cores they use, it's just right clicking the process and then checking the boxes next to the cores I want it to use =3

I'd love more info on this too =P