Need help OCing my Core i7 920

Gunrun69

Hi Guys, I got my new gaming build complete. (for now) I now want to get my 920 clocked to 3.66 but I don't know the settings in BIOS that I need to set.

I am a noob to OCing and would really appreciate someone walking me through it. I also need help to set my memory timings to 7-7-7-24.

I'm in Tulsa OK. Is there anyone who would let me call them in the evening to walk me through the settings? I'd really appreciate any help I can get.

Since we have the same Mobo I'm sure I can be of some help. since your ramm is rated at 1600 I would start off with setting your ramm divider to 2:10 in ramm settings. Then take your qpi to 160 with a 20x multi. that will put your cpu at 3.2 and should keep your ramm at its recommended 1600mhz. You should be able to achieve that without any voltage increase.

Just remember the higher you take your qpi the lower you will have to set your ramm divider. Also you will have to more than likely start increasing cpu voltage around 3.4-3.6 depending on your cpu. I should be able to give a little more advice when I get off work and can look at my bios. I just cant remember exactly how everything is worded

Edited by Water_Hazard

Nice avatar.... aint Oklahoma a nice place to live... I would help you But I do AMD, No intel yet.

Edit: Varrens Guide to overclocking. will give you a basics run down to overclocking.

And I am almost certain you can find a guide that will Help you overclock that certain I7. I found one for the phenom that was killer in about 10 mnutes.

Happy overclocking and welcome.

Edited by boinker

Since we have the same Mobo I'm sure I can be of some help. since your ramm is rated at 1600 I would start off with setting your ramm divider to 2:10 in ramm settings. Then take your qpi to 160 with a 20x multi. that will put your cpu at 3.2 and should keep your ramm at its recommended 1600mhz. You should be able to achieve that without any voltage increase.