SLI on Windows 7 RC

I just installed Windows 7 on my desktop computer, and it runs REALLY well. But one thing I noticed, it installs drivers for everything automatically, even video cards. I am running SLI for x2 BFG 7950 GT OC 512mb version, and it shows both cards showing up in the device manager, and both are working fine.

The Nvidia Control Panel does not show up, so I downloaded the latest drivers from Nvidia for my version of card and my operating system. I installed it, and now the Nvidia Control Panel shows up, and I enabled SLI.

I did NOT uninstall any drivers, and I did NOT run in safe mode. Should I have? When I tried to uninstall the drivers, they just automatically installed. I am not too worried about this, because after I use the downloaded driver, the card names change and the control panel shows up. BUT, am I going to get the best video performance?

I am new to Windows 7, and was wondering if I did this all correctly. Sorry if this seems noobish, I'm not so good with computers...

Thanks in advance your help!

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Honestly, I don't know what I'm doing wrong here. Everything has been working just fine, but I'm actually getting WORSE FPS than I did on XP 32-bit. I am now running 7 64-bit. Could that be the difference?

***EDIT*** I used to get 200+ FPS in Counterstrike: Source, but now I get like 180+. What's the deal? I thought it would run better... :(

Edited by TraptPatriot

What you did sounds fine

***EDIT*** I used to get 200+ FPS in Counterstrike: Source, but now I get like 180+. What's the deal? I thought it would run better... :(

Does it really matter :P

XP is still a lighter OS, it's 7 years old and designed to run on low end hardware. Vista & 7 just take up some more resources