Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Overclocked my E8500 to 3.99ghz.


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 boeingaviation

boeingaviation

    New Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 02 June 2009 - 03:30 PM

Hi,

I've just joined up to get some advice on my overclock thus far.

I have an Asus P5KC mobo, and an E8500 Core 2 Duo. I have overlocked it to 3.99ghz and raise the voltage to 1.5000v.

Can anyone offer any suggestions as to corrections I need to make, or if this sounds about right. Currently it appears to be running stable.

Regards,
Boeingavation

#2 XxHellxRaizerxX

XxHellxRaizerxX

    Quick Learner

  • Folding Member
  • 655 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:H-Town Missouri

Posted 02 June 2009 - 03:47 PM

err... i don't know if this is correct or not but that voltage sounds a little too high for the E8xxx series. I could be wrong but someone else correct if I am :huh:
Laptop: Dell Studio 15 running Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Core i3 @ 2.13GHz, Intel HD Graphics, 4GB DDR3 1066MHz, 15.6" 1920x1080 LED-LCD screen, back-lit keyboard

#3 SMeeD

SMeeD

    what the hell is a smeed?

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1968 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Torrington, CT

Posted 02 June 2009 - 03:49 PM

Too much voltage. I wouldnt go more than ~1.4

#4 Onion

Onion

    Onions are delicious

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4244 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:English Colonies

Posted 02 June 2009 - 05:09 PM

Your chip won't last too long at that voltage. 1.45 max for air cooled benching, and 1.4 max for 24/7.

Desktop: i7 6700K @ 4.9 GHz - Asus Z170A - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 2 x 8 GB DDR4 3200 Mhz - Samsung Evo 850 500 GB - EVGA SuperNova G2 750 - Noctua NH-D14 - Fractal Core 3300
MacBook Pro Retina 13: i5 5287U @ 3.3 Ghz - Intel Iris 6100 - 8 GB DDR3 1867 Mhz - 512 GB SSD

Peripherals: Dell UP2516D - Bose QC25 - Poker 3 w/ Cherry MX Blue - Corsair M65

Legacy Overclocks: Q9450 @ 4.0 GHz - Q6700 @ 4.0 GHz
OCC - Home of the Potato Overclock


#5 Puck

Puck

    Lord, what fools these mortals be!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3101 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 02 June 2009 - 06:26 PM

Mess with your nb termi and gtl ref voltages, it should not need near that much for 3.99ghz. 1.5v is too much for a 45nm chip, I run only 1.38v for 24/7 use and that is with a TRUE120 with 2 thick delta 120s(the tri-blade 142cfm beasts) in a push-pull setup...the temps are not what will kill the chips, it is the voltage.

Check out some of the online guides for safe values before changing anything else, since many mobo components are not as tolerant of overvolting as CPUs are and even a few minutes of too much voltage on a sensitive part can kill a chip or board.

-i7 4790k @ 4.9ghz 24/7 - Asus Sabertooth Z97 MK1 - 2X4GB Patriot Viper Extreme - RX580 8GB - 28" Samsung 4K - Dual PSU CM SilentPro M 1Kw Main/OCZ Z-Series Z850w Slave - Custom MM Extended Ascension - Logitech G502/G710+/Homemade Stainless mousepad -

CPU Cooled by: 2x MCP655 pumps, Archimedes TEC Waterblock w/TN669 TEC, Dew Point controller, 2x Black Ice GTX Gen2 480 Quads, 33x 80cfm 120mm Server fans, DD dual bay res w/XSPC Res plug Temp probe

GPUs Cooled by: Modded MCP655, 2xModded Enzotech Sapphire CPU Waterblocks, Zalman RAMsinks, modded stock plate VRM cooling, Phobya res, Aquacomputer AMS 280 Rad

Wow, puck just kinda summed that one up for most of us lol. I agree with puck. :)

Man Puck... I couldn't have said it better myself!

Current Rides: 93 Medium Patriot Red NA 383 Z28 - 2012 Metallic Spark Black Nitrous ZX14R - 09 Victory Red Z51 6sp LS3 Corvette


#6 boeingaviation

boeingaviation

    New Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 02 June 2009 - 08:16 PM

Thanks for your advice everyone.

I must point out 1 thing, I only had the CPU voltage at 1.4v, I have lowered it to 1.35v and it still seems to running fine. For this chip is it excessive for me to push the chip to nearly 4ghz, or is it quite safe? I don't want to kill my machine.

Just so you are all aware, the only thing I have changed in the BIOS is the FSB Freq, PCI-E to 100, and changed the CPU voltage. Every other setting is on auto.

Edited by boeingaviation, 02 June 2009 - 08:18 PM.


#7 boeingaviation

boeingaviation

    New Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 03 June 2009 - 02:04 AM

Sadly my PC wasn't stable at this speed, I put the computer under load (which it previously handled) and it froze & rebooted.

I think 3.99ghz is just to much load for my chip, or am I doing something else wrong?

#8 Zertz

Zertz

    Total Nerd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2574 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Quebec, Canada

Posted 03 June 2009 - 02:34 PM

Overclocking often takes more time than just increasing the FSB and pumping a ton of voltage. This guide is a very good start

Some people are like slinkies - not really good for anything but they bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs.


#9 9KRacing

9KRacing

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 113 posts
  • Location:Bay Area

Posted 03 June 2009 - 03:07 PM

1.5 is a WHOLE lotta voltage. I'm currently stable at 4.16ghz on an E8500 with only 1.31 volts. Granted I had to play around with other voltages....

Posted Image
Mobo - Asus P5QC | CPU - Intel E8500 E0 Stepping @ 4.16GHZ 1.31 vcore
RAM - 4GB Kingston PCH8500 HyperX DDR2 1066 MHZ SDRAM | Video - BFG 9600 GT OC @ 720 core
Case - Black/Silver Raidmax Sagitta w/ 2x 63cfm 120mm LED fans | PSU - Corsair 620W Modular PSU
HDD - WD 500GB Caviar Black | CPU Cooler - Arctic Cooler Freezer 7 Pro | DVD - Sony 22X DvD RW+ w/ LightScribe
Monitor - Acer 23" 1080p LCD Monitor | OS - Windows 7 Build 7201

#10 shiver_8

shiver_8

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 338 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 03 June 2009 - 03:10 PM

He probably mean 1.5v BIOS not real voltage. Get CPUID and find out what you're really running at. For an e8500 you should easily get to 4.5ghz with 1.5 ACTUAL volts. My E8400 is running at 4.5ghz with just under 1.5V for a few months now with no problems. Personally I'd find what you can get out of your CPU after bumping the vcore to 1.5v actual (CPU ID's voltage) and tweaking your NB and PLL voltages. You should be able to get to 5ghz with the 9.5x multi. Try 526mhz fsb with the 9.5x multi and 1.5V actual and see if you get into windows.
Antec 1200 WC'D
Swiftech MCP-655, Mini-Res, MCR-220, Apogee XT
Corsair TX750W
GA-EP45-UD3P
E8400 @ 4.5ghz 24/7 545x9 1.72v MAX OC PROOF: http://i258.photobuc...to8/49ghz-1.jpg
OCZ Reapers 2x2gb @ 1000mhz/5-5-5-12/2.2v
XFX 4890 CFX 1000/1100
WD Caviar Black 1TB HDD

#11 boeingaviation

boeingaviation

    New Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 05 June 2009 - 12:46 AM

An update...............

After reading the last post I rebooted my PC and tried altering a few things. Here's what I changed:

FSB=480
PCI-E = 100
CPU Voltage = 1.6v
CPU PLL Voltage =1.7v
DRAM Voltage=2.2v
NB Voltage=1.7v

Now I booted the PC up & it did not work, so I restarted the PC and tried altering the PLL & NB voltages but to no avail. I'm not quite sure that this means or where to change in BIOS "9.5x multi"???.

Thanks for your help, look forward to responses.

#12 taowulf

taowulf

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1731 posts

Posted 05 June 2009 - 02:26 AM

An update...............

After reading the last post I rebooted my PC and tried altering a few things. Here's what I changed:

FSB=480
PCI-E = 100
CPU Voltage = 1.6v
CPU PLL Voltage =1.7v
DRAM Voltage=2.2v
NB Voltage=1.7v

Now I booted the PC up & it did not work, so I restarted the PC and tried altering the PLL & NB voltages but to no avail. I'm not quite sure that this means or where to change in BIOS "9.5x multi"???.

Thanks for your help, look forward to responses.


Whoa there turbo, you are going to be buying some new hardware soon.
This is what you do.

Take everything back to stock voltage.

Read lots of guides before ever overclock again. Primarily you will learn to start small. Up the FSB until it isn't stable. then start upping the voltage IN SMALL AMOUNTS. You just don't crank a E8500 up to 1.6v and expect it to last at all. hell, I wouldn't even put my E6850 at that voltage, and it needs much more voltage than that E8500 you have. Overclocking isn't about cranking it as high as it can go, it is about finding the acceptable limits of your particular hardware.

I tell ya, kids these days....
Dataseed - DFI P35-T2R - Intel E6850 Core2Duo @ 4Ghz - 2GB (2x1024) Geil Black Dragon EVO ONE [email protected] - eVGA 8800 GT Superclocked 650Mhz/950Mhz - 2x Maxtor 75GB 6Y080m0 SATA RAID 0 - 750GB Hitachi Deskstar- Pioneer DVD-RW DVR212D SATA - OCZ GameXStream 700W - Samsung 226BW - Logitech G15 Keyboard - Razer Diamondback - WinXP Home SP2- Coolermaster Stacker STC-T01 Cooling - Danger Den MC-TDX - Danger Den IONE - Swiftech MR320QR - DDC 3.2 w/Petra top - 1/2 Inch Tygon - Zalman ZM-MFC1 Plus Fan Controller

Dead March - DFI Lanparty NF590 SLI M2R/G - AMD64 4200+ X2 [email protected] aircooled w/Zalmann CNP9500- 2GB (2x1024) OCZ Platinum XTC PC6400 DDR2 OCZ2P8002GK - 2x eVGA 7900GS KO SLI - 40GB Maxtor -10GB IBM Deskstar - 500GB Seagate Barracuda- Antec Truepower Trio 500W - Dell 2005FPW - Unbuntu 7.10 w/ MythTV -Hauppauge WinTV PVR-500 MCE -Antec Lanboy