Sign in to follow this  
madu

Best desktop brand

Hey guys,

So the new financial year started and I am entitled to get a desktop for below $2000.

I have to buy a branded one and not allowed to build one myself. So what do you guys think is the most reliable brand out there?

The options available for me are:

1) iMac

2) Lenovo Think Center

3) Dell XPS

My primary concern is the driver compatibility with Linux. I will be installing Ubuntu on this. Anyway I think most of the devices will work except for maybe iMac. But apart from this, my main purpose in this machine will be runing Matlab. So a quad core is preferable although a dual-core wont make a big difference.

My problem is with durability. I have a Lenovo T60 laptop which I have been using for almost two years withoug any problem whatsoever. On the other hand my Dell XPS laptop died within a year. So I am a little concerned which way to go. Because Dell desktops are pretty much out there but Lenovo isn''t that much.

So just leave your guys thoughts.

Cheers.

If you are simply going to turn around and install Linux on the system, then I wouldn't spend the extra $$ on the iMac.

Personally, I'd go with a Dell over a Lenovo system, but I'm not really crazy about either.

Is there any reason you are not allowed to build one? Believe me you can get much higher quality parts for cheaper, the pre-builds are usually junky piece that just barely work, but they work..

Personally, I'd go with a Dell over a Lenovo system, but I'm not really crazy about either.