Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Empire: Total War


  • Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#13 LoArmistead

LoArmistead

    OCC's misplaced Texan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3012 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:'Murrica

Posted 27 March 2009 - 10:11 AM

I have a couple questions for you fellow ETW players. Do any of you have a quad core processor, and how fast is it running? Like, time one of your turns, or run a large scale battle at 4x and see your framerate. I ask because I think this game is fairly CPU limited (just a hunch), and I'm wondering what kind of performance increases can be found from a quad core (or an 8 logical core) system.



The game engine is definitely the most demanding of any RTS out there, and as far as I know the game is not multi-threaded (which I see as a MAJOR flaw given how demanding it is). I don't see much performance boost, if any, out of a quad core.

"All Hail John Browning"

Unfunded US Welfare Liabilities: http://usdebtclock.org/numbers2/UnfundedLiabilitiesMx.swf
"Socialism is a philosophy of failure, the creed of ignorance, and the gospel of envy, its inherent virtue is the equal sharing of misery."

"Spears shall be shaken, shields shall be splintered. It is a sword-day; a red day, ere the sun rises! Ride now! Ride now! Ride for ruin, and the world's ending! Forth Eorlingas!"
** Grammar Police: Deputy **


#14 ebarone

ebarone

    The SSD Cheerleader

  • FW Team Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1051 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 27 March 2009 - 10:34 AM

If its not multi threaded then they're retarded, the 2nd logo screen on startup is "Runs Great on Intel Core i7"

"What do you mean you 'dont know why' thats funny?? Its a big black guy punching a 100 year old woman in the face! How many more excuses for 'funny' do you need???"
Gaming system, OC speeds TBD:
i7 975X stock speeds | Corsair H50 w/ 2 Scythe Slipsteams | eVGA GTX 480SC + PNY GTX480OC | 3x2GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 2000
Asus P6X58D Premium | 3x Intel X25-M G2 160GB SSD in RAID0, 2x Seagate 7200.10 500GB in RAID0 | Win7 Pro x64 | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
CoolerMaster Stacker 810 | Logitech G15 | Logitech G5
GF's "new" gaming system (aka my old one):
[email protected]4203MHz@1.296v | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | eVGA 9800 GTX+ | 2x2GB Corsair [email protected]
Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3L | 1TB WD Green | Win7 Ultimate x64 | Thermaltake 1000W Mod | CoolerMaster Centurion | Logitech G15 | Logitech G5


#15 LoArmistead

LoArmistead

    OCC's misplaced Texan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3012 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:'Murrica

Posted 27 March 2009 - 10:37 AM

If its not multi threaded then they're retarded, the 2nd logo screen on startup is "Runs Great on Intel Core i7"



I'm sure it does run great on i7... just as great as it does on my E6600 :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

"All Hail John Browning"

Unfunded US Welfare Liabilities: http://usdebtclock.org/numbers2/UnfundedLiabilitiesMx.swf
"Socialism is a philosophy of failure, the creed of ignorance, and the gospel of envy, its inherent virtue is the equal sharing of misery."

"Spears shall be shaken, shields shall be splintered. It is a sword-day; a red day, ere the sun rises! Ride now! Ride now! Ride for ruin, and the world's ending! Forth Eorlingas!"
** Grammar Police: Deputy **


#16 tjmagneto

tjmagneto

    Member

  • Folding Member
  • 187 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Visalia, CA

Posted 27 March 2009 - 11:17 AM

I've been trying out the demo and the post about bugs concern me. Otherwise looks like a winner to me.
ASUS P6T Deulxe | Intel Core i7 [email protected] Ghz | Corsair H50| 12MB OCZ 1333 |2- BFG 275 OC | Velociraptor 300 MB | WD Black 1 TB | LG DVD | CoolerMaster ATCS 840 | Corsair TX 850|Vista 64 Ultimate | Klipsch 2.1 | Berdan Sharps .54 cal rifle

Any sufficiently advanced technology is virtually indistinguishable from magic - Arthur C. Clarke


#17 LoArmistead

LoArmistead

    OCC's misplaced Texan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3012 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:'Murrica

Posted 27 March 2009 - 11:21 AM

After two patches, it seems to be running fairly well now. Give it a shot.

"All Hail John Browning"

Unfunded US Welfare Liabilities: http://usdebtclock.org/numbers2/UnfundedLiabilitiesMx.swf
"Socialism is a philosophy of failure, the creed of ignorance, and the gospel of envy, its inherent virtue is the equal sharing of misery."

"Spears shall be shaken, shields shall be splintered. It is a sword-day; a red day, ere the sun rises! Ride now! Ride now! Ride for ruin, and the world's ending! Forth Eorlingas!"
** Grammar Police: Deputy **


#18 tjmagneto

tjmagneto

    Member

  • Folding Member
  • 187 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Visalia, CA

Posted 30 March 2009 - 10:54 AM

I'll just do that, thanks.
ASUS P6T Deulxe | Intel Core i7 [email protected] Ghz | Corsair H50| 12MB OCZ 1333 |2- BFG 275 OC | Velociraptor 300 MB | WD Black 1 TB | LG DVD | CoolerMaster ATCS 840 | Corsair TX 850|Vista 64 Ultimate | Klipsch 2.1 | Berdan Sharps .54 cal rifle

Any sufficiently advanced technology is virtually indistinguishable from magic - Arthur C. Clarke


#19 ous103ds

ous103ds

    New Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 09 April 2009 - 06:31 AM

I have the updates for Empire Total war and it still crashes and freezes up, when eva i go near my fleets, I love the game but, sick of crashes, i HAVE TRYED EVERY THIG FROM INSTALLING NEW DRIVERS TO COMPLETE SYSTEM FORMAT AND REINSTALLING WINDOWS, can any one PLEASE help .

#20 LoArmistead

LoArmistead

    OCC's misplaced Texan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3012 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:'Murrica

Posted 09 April 2009 - 08:07 AM

It's the game itself. Though the past patches seem to have fixed most of my crashing issues. The only crash I occasionally get is one about video memory, but other than that the game seems to be running fine now. I was getting some system freezes, but upping the fan speed on my video card seems to have solved all of those...

"All Hail John Browning"

Unfunded US Welfare Liabilities: http://usdebtclock.org/numbers2/UnfundedLiabilitiesMx.swf
"Socialism is a philosophy of failure, the creed of ignorance, and the gospel of envy, its inherent virtue is the equal sharing of misery."

"Spears shall be shaken, shields shall be splintered. It is a sword-day; a red day, ere the sun rises! Ride now! Ride now! Ride for ruin, and the world's ending! Forth Eorlingas!"
** Grammar Police: Deputy **


#21 ClaymanVTW

ClaymanVTW

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 87 posts

Posted 06 May 2009 - 12:28 PM

Bugs aside, it has to be one of the best games yall played right? im customizing a new comp and im making it for this, and other games.

#22 Kingfisher

Kingfisher

    High Elf

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2963 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dallas, Texas

Posted 13 May 2009 - 01:57 PM

I really enjoy the TW series, I play Medieval II still.
Looks like Empire is worth buying now as the bugs are/have been squished.

Thanks for the heads up Lo, I'll tell the game developers you deserve an "atta boy" for promoting it. ;)
ASRock extreme 3 gen3
Intel i5 2500k Sandy Bridge
Patriot Signature 2x4GB PC3 12800
Sapphire HD 6850
Corsair Gaming Series GS600
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Windows 7 Home Premium

so i stopped for a bit and destroyed a 12 layer lasagna,


#23 ClaymanVTW

ClaymanVTW

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 87 posts

Posted 13 May 2009 - 04:04 PM

llol :P

so bugs adie, yall like it?

and yeah, yell SenseiTW on the official forums i suppose :D

#24 Timmy94

Timmy94

    Clock Me Higher

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 911 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia

Posted 16 May 2009 - 01:13 AM

I may take a look at this game.

Asus GTX 295
Acer 24" + Acer 19"
Coolermaster CM 690
Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3P
4GB Patriot Viper-2 1600
Intel Core i7 860 @ 2.94Ghz
Great Wall 700W + TT 450W VGA