Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Empire: Total War


  • Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#1 LoArmistead

LoArmistead

    OCC's misplaced Texan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3012 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:'Murrica

Posted 09 March 2009 - 03:00 PM

Has any one played it yet?

Great graphics
Great historical period
Great customization
Overall a great concept..

BUT... the retail release is absolutely LOADED with bugs. Google "Empire Total War crashes" and there are hundreds of sites with people on them raging about white screens, desktop crashes, PCs freezing, saves games becoming corrupted, weird noises, severe video lag. The list never ends.

I have been an avid Total War fan ever since Shogun, but this game thus far has been an utter disappointment. The concept is fantastic, the graphics are beautiful, the engine is more refined, and overall the game has a lot of potential, but what on earth is up with them releasing a game that doesn't even work?

I've run into problems like everyone else - the game has frozen a couple of times and I've had to restart my computer. The game will crash to desktop when the Huron declare war on Great Britain after about 15 turns... that I could live with until the next patch...

What I was NOT expecting was for it to ruin my saved campaign. I had a saved campaign as Prussia, 163 turns. I had conquered all of northern Europe, the Americas, GB over the course of three days of playing. I saved constantly fearing the game would crash mid-turn. I had a manual save, the auto-save, and I even did the quick save often. I restarted the game and the computer several times over the course of that three-day campaign. Well, last night, I save the game (auto, quick, and manual), close the game, go outside to do some yard work, come back two hours later, "Continue Campaign," the loading bar loaded about an inch, froze for five seconds, and crashed to desktop... OK. Tried it again. Crashed. Tried loading the manual save. CRASH. Tried loading the quick save. CRASH. Tried loading the autosave. CRASH. So basically my entire campaign that I invested so much time into is gone. 163 turns... :angry2:

I hope they fix this issue in the patch and fix these "corrupted" save files. My gut tells me the corrupt files are going to be a write-off, and the issue will not happen to any files saved subsequent to the patch, in which case I will be very, very disappointed. They pushed the release date back a month, so I assumed they were confident it was playable in its current form. What a bloody shambles. I haven't seen a game so unfit for public release since the initial release of Battlefield 2. And yes that's an insult in the highest order.

For shame, CA, for shame.

"All Hail John Browning"

Unfunded US Welfare Liabilities: http://usdebtclock.org/numbers2/UnfundedLiabilitiesMx.swf
"Socialism is a philosophy of failure, the creed of ignorance, and the gospel of envy, its inherent virtue is the equal sharing of misery."

"Spears shall be shaken, shields shall be splintered. It is a sword-day; a red day, ere the sun rises! Ride now! Ride now! Ride for ruin, and the world's ending! Forth Eorlingas!"
** Grammar Police: Deputy **


#2 ebarone

ebarone

    The SSD Cheerleader

  • FW Team Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1051 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 March 2009 - 09:41 AM

I've had to deal with a lot of crashes of my game. A lotttt. My graphics card would overheat just by looking at the main campaign screen, and I dont have a chump of a system. My game crashes about 50% of the time I play. To be honest, I blame Steam, because I've had nothing but problems from that program ever since I first got it.

That said.... I bloody love the game. Everyone should get it, and I cannot bloody wait for campaign multiplayer. I'm 60-something turns in as Holland (United Provinces) and I'm doing very very well for myself. 3rd in prestige, first to create the First Rates, and wealthier than all but Spain and GB. Taking the provinces of Portugal and Mysore in India were gigantic boosts... I have such a booming trade system that I can exempt every province from taxes and still bring in a couple thousand dollars per turn. With low taxes I take in upwards of 30k per turn, and I only own 8 territories: Sri Lanka, Mysore, Amsterdam, Dutch Guyana, Trinidad, Curacao, Portugal and Frankfurt. Soon I'll be setting off the world war between me and GB against Spain and France.

Bottom line.... I freaking love the game, and its worth the crashes. Everyone go buy it!!

"What do you mean you 'dont know why' thats funny?? Its a big black guy punching a 100 year old woman in the face! How many more excuses for 'funny' do you need???"
Gaming system, OC speeds TBD:
i7 975X stock speeds | Corsair H50 w/ 2 Scythe Slipsteams | eVGA GTX 480SC + PNY GTX480OC | 3x2GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 2000
Asus P6X58D Premium | 3x Intel X25-M G2 160GB SSD in RAID0, 2x Seagate 7200.10 500GB in RAID0 | Win7 Pro x64 | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
CoolerMaster Stacker 810 | Logitech G15 | Logitech G5
GF's "new" gaming system (aka my old one):
[email protected]4203MHz@1.296v | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | eVGA 9800 GTX+ | 2x2GB Corsair [email protected]
Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3L | 1TB WD Green | Win7 Ultimate x64 | Thermaltake 1000W Mod | CoolerMaster Centurion | Logitech G15 | Logitech G5


#3 LoArmistead

LoArmistead

    OCC's misplaced Texan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3012 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:'Murrica

Posted 11 March 2009 - 09:49 AM

The patch yesterday did a lot to help with the game crashes. I played it last night and it didn't crash at all! How exciting. The save game corruption bug has been addressed, but hasn't been fixed yet. My gut tells me they aren't going to be able to make them playable through a universal patch, so I've just written off my 163 turn saved game, and started another campaign.

"All Hail John Browning"

Unfunded US Welfare Liabilities: http://usdebtclock.org/numbers2/UnfundedLiabilitiesMx.swf
"Socialism is a philosophy of failure, the creed of ignorance, and the gospel of envy, its inherent virtue is the equal sharing of misery."

"Spears shall be shaken, shields shall be splintered. It is a sword-day; a red day, ere the sun rises! Ride now! Ride now! Ride for ruin, and the world's ending! Forth Eorlingas!"
** Grammar Police: Deputy **


#4 WhenKittensATK

WhenKittensATK

    Melting pot of friendship

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8236 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:FL

Posted 11 March 2009 - 09:50 AM

Doesn't look so good, I might wait till a patch comes out. Before I pick it up.

Gaming Rig || Intel i7 3770K || Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 || G.Skill 8GB || MSI GTX 1070 || Corsair TX750 V2 ||

Peripherals || ASUS PG279Q || Corsair Vengeance K90 || Logitech G700s || Blue Snowball ||

Audio Gear || Schiit Bitfrost 4490 || Schiit Lyr 2 || Sennheiser HD6XX || Monoprice 605500 ||

NAS || Intel Xeon E3-1275 v5 || Supermicro X11SSH-LN4F || Samsung 16 GB ECC RAM || SeaSonic X-Series 750W || 54 TB Raw Storage ||


#5 CheeseMan42

CheeseMan42

    Certified NVIDIA Fanboy

  • Review Editor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4377 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bristol, CT

Posted 11 March 2009 - 10:03 AM

I've been meaning to get this game as I've also loved it since Shogun, Rome being my favorite. I just don't have the time with my addiction to L4D and just buying TF2. I'll be busy for a while before I get this. Hopefully everything will be fixed by then.

i7-6700K @ 4.2GHz | Noctua NH-D14 | MSI Gaming M7 | 2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws V | GTX 980 Ti | 120GB Samsung 850 EVO M.2 | Corsair 750TX | CM Stacker 830 | SoundBlaster X-Fi Titanium | Sennheiser HD650 + Schiit Magni/Modi 2 + Logitech G430 | Logitech G500s | Input Club Kira w/ Hako Violets + Pulse SA

Intel i3 NUC | 8GB RAM | Samsung 120GB M.2 || Samsung Chromebook

SteamFor Sale Thread | OCC Steam Group | Follow OCC on facebook.png
Gr4vitas (3/18/09) - So moral of the story is. Vista 64 bit makes me happy in the pants.


#6 taowulf

taowulf

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1731 posts

Posted 11 March 2009 - 11:25 AM

I just finished Chap 4 of RTI. My only issue is that in the other campaign I have going (England) I have crashes caused by some fleets.

BTW, all of the REALLY serious crash problems seem to be associated with Vista. I am so glad I didn't downgrade from XP.
Dataseed - DFI P35-T2R - Intel E6850 Core2Duo @ 4Ghz - 2GB (2x1024) Geil Black Dragon EVO ONE [email protected] - eVGA 8800 GT Superclocked 650Mhz/950Mhz - 2x Maxtor 75GB 6Y080m0 SATA RAID 0 - 750GB Hitachi Deskstar- Pioneer DVD-RW DVR212D SATA - OCZ GameXStream 700W - Samsung 226BW - Logitech G15 Keyboard - Razer Diamondback - WinXP Home SP2- Coolermaster Stacker STC-T01 Cooling - Danger Den MC-TDX - Danger Den IONE - Swiftech MR320QR - DDC 3.2 w/Petra top - 1/2 Inch Tygon - Zalman ZM-MFC1 Plus Fan Controller

Dead March - DFI Lanparty NF590 SLI M2R/G - AMD64 4200+ X2 [email protected] aircooled w/Zalmann CNP9500- 2GB (2x1024) OCZ Platinum XTC PC6400 DDR2 OCZ2P8002GK - 2x eVGA 7900GS KO SLI - 40GB Maxtor -10GB IBM Deskstar - 500GB Seagate Barracuda- Antec Truepower Trio 500W - Dell 2005FPW - Unbuntu 7.10 w/ MythTV -Hauppauge WinTV PVR-500 MCE -Antec Lanboy

#7 ebarone

ebarone

    The SSD Cheerleader

  • FW Team Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1051 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 March 2009 - 12:34 PM

My crashes have never really affected anything of mine. My auto save still works, so any time I crash, I only lose what I did in the turn. If I'm not mistaken I've crashed while loading from a battle map into the campaign map, and when I reloaded the game it had saved the outcome of the battle, so it hasnt been an issue at all. Also I have Vista 64.

"What do you mean you 'dont know why' thats funny?? Its a big black guy punching a 100 year old woman in the face! How many more excuses for 'funny' do you need???"
Gaming system, OC speeds TBD:
i7 975X stock speeds | Corsair H50 w/ 2 Scythe Slipsteams | eVGA GTX 480SC + PNY GTX480OC | 3x2GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 2000
Asus P6X58D Premium | 3x Intel X25-M G2 160GB SSD in RAID0, 2x Seagate 7200.10 500GB in RAID0 | Win7 Pro x64 | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
CoolerMaster Stacker 810 | Logitech G15 | Logitech G5
GF's "new" gaming system (aka my old one):
[email protected]4203MHz@1.296v | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | eVGA 9800 GTX+ | 2x2GB Corsair [email protected]
Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3L | 1TB WD Green | Win7 Ultimate x64 | Thermaltake 1000W Mod | CoolerMaster Centurion | Logitech G15 | Logitech G5


#8 WhenKittensATK

WhenKittensATK

    Melting pot of friendship

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8236 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:FL

Posted 24 March 2009 - 04:39 PM

So have the issues of the game been addressed yet? Safe to buy it now?

Gaming Rig || Intel i7 3770K || Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 || G.Skill 8GB || MSI GTX 1070 || Corsair TX750 V2 ||

Peripherals || ASUS PG279Q || Corsair Vengeance K90 || Logitech G700s || Blue Snowball ||

Audio Gear || Schiit Bitfrost 4490 || Schiit Lyr 2 || Sennheiser HD6XX || Monoprice 605500 ||

NAS || Intel Xeon E3-1275 v5 || Supermicro X11SSH-LN4F || Samsung 16 GB ECC RAM || SeaSonic X-Series 750W || 54 TB Raw Storage ||


#9 LoArmistead

LoArmistead

    OCC's misplaced Texan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3012 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:'Murrica

Posted 24 March 2009 - 04:52 PM

I believe most of the major bugs have been addressed. Still some minor tweaks, but for the most part... this isn't an EA-esque product for the time being.

"All Hail John Browning"

Unfunded US Welfare Liabilities: http://usdebtclock.org/numbers2/UnfundedLiabilitiesMx.swf
"Socialism is a philosophy of failure, the creed of ignorance, and the gospel of envy, its inherent virtue is the equal sharing of misery."

"Spears shall be shaken, shields shall be splintered. It is a sword-day; a red day, ere the sun rises! Ride now! Ride now! Ride for ruin, and the world's ending! Forth Eorlingas!"
** Grammar Police: Deputy **


#10 nickosha

nickosha

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 134 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 24 March 2009 - 06:20 PM

I'm kind of torn on Empire:TW. I absolutely love the new campaign features but the fact that most nations share the same units turns me off to the game. I understand that that was a part of the era, but it still just seems to create a lack of variety in the battle gameplay and for overall replayability. Hopefully the TW community will be quick to mod in new units or switch it into an entirely different era.

NZXT Hush
C2D E8400 w/Core Contact Freezer
Asus EAH4850 Top @750/1100
Asus P5B-E
4GB OCZ Fatal1ty Edition DDR2 1066
WD Caviar Black 500GB
OCZ modXstream 500W
Olevia 32" HDTV


#11 LoArmistead

LoArmistead

    OCC's misplaced Texan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3012 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:'Murrica

Posted 24 March 2009 - 06:24 PM

I actually think it's MORE diverse. Being able to recruit colonial units, and once you get into Africa, the colonial line infantry there are African natives dressed in your battle jacket. Pretty neat. The barbary pirates have their special melee units (very effective). The Brits have tons of special units. The everyday Elite Guard units, but then you can get the Rangers, Coldstream Guard, the Blackwatch (KILTS!!!), and a few others.

"All Hail John Browning"

Unfunded US Welfare Liabilities: http://usdebtclock.org/numbers2/UnfundedLiabilitiesMx.swf
"Socialism is a philosophy of failure, the creed of ignorance, and the gospel of envy, its inherent virtue is the equal sharing of misery."

"Spears shall be shaken, shields shall be splintered. It is a sword-day; a red day, ere the sun rises! Ride now! Ride now! Ride for ruin, and the world's ending! Forth Eorlingas!"
** Grammar Police: Deputy **


#12 ebarone

ebarone

    The SSD Cheerleader

  • FW Team Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1051 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 27 March 2009 - 09:40 AM

I have a couple questions for you fellow ETW players. Do any of you have a quad core processor, and how fast is it running? Like, time one of your turns, or run a large scale battle at 4x and see your framerate. I ask because I think this game is fairly CPU limited (just a hunch), and I'm wondering what kind of performance increases can be found from a quad core (or an 8 logical core) system.

"What do you mean you 'dont know why' thats funny?? Its a big black guy punching a 100 year old woman in the face! How many more excuses for 'funny' do you need???"
Gaming system, OC speeds TBD:
i7 975X stock speeds | Corsair H50 w/ 2 Scythe Slipsteams | eVGA GTX 480SC + PNY GTX480OC | 3x2GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 2000
Asus P6X58D Premium | 3x Intel X25-M G2 160GB SSD in RAID0, 2x Seagate 7200.10 500GB in RAID0 | Win7 Pro x64 | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
CoolerMaster Stacker 810 | Logitech G15 | Logitech G5
GF's "new" gaming system (aka my old one):
[email protected]4203MHz@1.296v | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | eVGA 9800 GTX+ | 2x2GB Corsair [email protected]
Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3L | 1TB WD Green | Win7 Ultimate x64 | Thermaltake 1000W Mod | CoolerMaster Centurion | Logitech G15 | Logitech G5