Building Newb requires assistance! (Budget Gaming Rig)

Scarecrow

Salutations everyone! So... I need help!

This is my first build and I'm going for a great gaming system...for as low in price as I can get it. (I was trying to stick to around <850, but considering the i7 is only 140 more...)

I have set up two builds based on the 3 items I already have...but the big question is:

Spend an extra $145 for a new quad i7 with less processing speed? Or save and hit a solid Dual E8500 3.1 ghz?

Also, this does not include peripherals. I do have a 6-7 year old Dell 15' flat monitor and a crap keyboard, but that's it. (I suppose that will suffice 'till I can afford more.)

The three items I already have: 1) Apollo Case 2) OCZ Stealth PSU 3) VistionTek Ati Radion hd 4870 512 mb (No I did not buy it for that much! Lol)

Intel Dual Core Build:

Intel E8500 3.16 Ghz

Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard

WD Caviar 350gb HDD

G.Skill 4gb RAM

Windows Vista 64 bit for System Builders

LG Disc Drive

Intel i7:

Intel i7 Processor 2.6 Ghz

Gigabyte "Under" Mother Board

G.Skill 3gb RAM

WD Caviar 350gb HDD

LG Disc Drive

Intel Duo E500 = $803.50

Intel i7 = $949.73

Thank you everyone in advance! = D

P.s.

-If anyone can suggest better items considering lower prices, I am all for it. Though quality is important, I really need to go as low as I can financially.

Edited by Scarecrow

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I say this all the time, but in my opinion i7 isn't worth the price premium, especially on a budget like yours. For gaming you're probably better off with a faster dual core than a slower quad. I gave up my quad for a dual in my gaming rig. Quads really only shine in a few select games at the moment. More quad-enabled games will come, but I think adoption will still be slow for the next year or so.

I'd take that extra $140 or so and put it towards a new monitor. 15" means VERY low resolution gaming.