Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

High End Help


  • Please log in to reply
65 replies to this topic

#13 Comp Dude2

Comp Dude2

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1998 posts

Posted 05 October 2008 - 10:26 AM

*are the graphiccards cooled by stock cooler or active cooling.... the stock passive cooling isn't build for the close 3 way SLi and gives problems...

How many passively cooled Ultra's have you seen?

Posted Image


#14 TheSternMystic

TheSternMystic

    Dell Apostle

  • Folding Member
  • 1053 posts
  • Location:Canadian

Posted 05 October 2008 - 11:30 AM

Uhhh, is it possible that it's freezing because it's overclocked?

Try running it completely stock. If it doesn't freeze, well, answer is there. Higher temperatures always increase instability. Even if the temperatures aren't into a "dangerous range," a higher temperature when combined with an overclock can easily cause a system to lock up.

Raise the voltage to 1.3. If that doesn't solve all your problems in life, aim for a lower overclock.

#15 markiemrboo

markiemrboo

    BSD Fiend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5955 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gt Yarmouth, UK

Posted 05 October 2008 - 11:55 AM

the system is fine when doing everest system stabily test going to run 4 another 30min just to make shaw



Uhhh, is it possible that it's freezing because it's overclocked?

Try running it completely stock. If it doesn't freeze, well, answer is there. Higher temperatures always increase instability. Even if the temperatures aren't into a "dangerous range," a higher temperature when combined with an overclock can easily cause a system to lock up.

Raise the voltage to 1.3. If that doesn't solve all your problems in life, aim for a lower overclock.


:withstupid:
( Intel C2Q9300 + Scythe Zipang (400 x 7.5 = 3GHz @ 1.3v) ) ( Gigabyte GA-P35C-DS3R v2.1 ) ( 2 x 2GB OCZ OCZ2N800SR4GK PC2-6400 (400 x 5-5-5-15 @ 2.1v) ) ( Sapphire 4890 OC 1GB ) ( 4 x 1TB Samsung F1, 1 x 500GB Samsung T ) ( Pioneer DVR-109XL ) ( X-fi XtremeMusic ) ( Corsair HX 520 ) ( Enermax Pandora CA-3030 ) ( 2 x Benq G2400W ) ( Cherry CyMotion Expert ) ( Windows Vista Ultimate x64 SP1 )

Posted Image

#16 tkrow21

tkrow21

    Total Nerd

  • Folding Member
  • 3714 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York City

Posted 05 October 2008 - 12:15 PM

I find that there are a lot of people with stupids 'round these areas.
Posted Image
It's the decisions you make when you have no time to make them that define who you are.

#17 ir_cow

ir_cow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6399 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:WA

Posted 05 October 2008 - 12:22 PM

why are you reapers at 6-6-6-20? default is 5-5-5-18 for 1066 @ 2.1v and i noticed it says 1.6v for you which is undervolting even at stock. it doesn't matter you're cpu is overclocked its the ram that giving you the problems. drop the cpu to stock and notice how it will continue to freeze unless the rams at 1.9-2.1v. i don't know why no one picked up on this.

IR Twitter / OCC YouTube Channel / NVIDIA OC Guides; 1070, 1070 Ti, 1080 Ti, 2080

OCC Best AMD Motherboard Picks 2018 / OCC Best Mid ATX Computer Cases 2018

Main Rig: Threadripper 1920X, GIGABYTE X399 Designare EX, NVIDIA RTX 2080, Intel 730(s) 480GB, 32GB [email protected], Seasonic 1000w Plat.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), Thermaltake 750w.


#18 damian

damian

    Nerd Life

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2768 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tx

Posted 05 October 2008 - 12:50 PM

I find that there are a lot of people with stupids 'round these areas.

what's that suppose to mean

#19 crazy8s846

crazy8s846

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 282 posts

Posted 05 October 2008 - 01:45 PM

why are you reapers at 6-6-6-20? default is 5-5-5-18 for 1066 @ 2.1v and i noticed it says 1.6v for you which is undervolting even at stock. it doesn't matter you're cpu is overclocked its the ram that giving you the problems. drop the cpu to stock and notice how it will continue to freeze unless the rams at 1.9-2.1v. i don't know why no one picked up on this.

Hes running DDR3 not DDR2, thats why his timing are what they are and that is why his voltage is what it is.
Gigabyte X58A UD3R
Proc i7 930,
mushkin redline 1600 Ram,
silverstone 1000w psu
2 LG 24X DVD
EK Supreme HF water block, Danger Den rad Res, black ice 2 raditor,
Enzotech 1/2 id 3/4 od compression fittings
Aquastream XT pump
HAF X case

#20 crazy8s846

crazy8s846

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 282 posts

Posted 05 October 2008 - 01:47 PM

Hes running DDR3 not DDR2, thats why his timing are what they are and that is why his voltage is what it is.

what is your northbridge voltage set at.
Gigabyte X58A UD3R
Proc i7 930,
mushkin redline 1600 Ram,
silverstone 1000w psu
2 LG 24X DVD
EK Supreme HF water block, Danger Den rad Res, black ice 2 raditor,
Enzotech 1/2 id 3/4 od compression fittings
Aquastream XT pump
HAF X case

#21 tkrow21

tkrow21

    Total Nerd

  • Folding Member
  • 3714 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York City

Posted 05 October 2008 - 02:11 PM

what's that suppose to mean


That a lot of people use the "I'm with stupid" sign.
Posted Image
It's the decisions you make when you have no time to make them that define who you are.

#22 Crazy_Nate

Crazy_Nate

    Philosophy begins in wonder.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3918 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 05 October 2008 - 02:27 PM

That a lot of people use the "I'm with stupid" sign.


:withstupid:




It's a way of saying "Hey! That's a good idea. Exactly what I would have said." We just don't have one that says "I concur" :P

OCC Recommended Power Supplies List - The Official OCC Raid Guide - OverclockersClub Rules - OCC Market Place Forum Rules - OCC IRC


Posted Image

Intel i5 650 @ 3.2 -- TR AXP-140 Passive -- Mushkin Blackline 2x2GB -- Asus Gene III P55 / mATX -- WD Caviar Black 1TB -- Corsair HX 750 -- Custom HTPC Case
AMD PII X4 965 -- Mushkin Silverline 2x4GB -- ASUS M4A88T-M -- WD Caviar Black 1TB -- Corsair HX 650 -- LIAN LI PC-V354A (Silver)


#23 ARandomOWL

ARandomOWL

    Wise Owl

  • FW Team Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1458 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 05 October 2008 - 02:39 PM

Posted Image

4670k + GTX 980Ti -- crammed into a mini-ITX case

Arch Linux

About Me


#24 Savan

Savan

    I'm a thread killer

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2066 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 05 October 2008 - 03:51 PM

My question is how do you figure 3.6 Ghz with your fsb 1444 and multiplier 10?
1444*10 = 14440 or 14.44Ghz (which I doubt :P )

and assuming that that was a typo, and your fsb is 144 then thats 1.44Ghz. To get 3.6Ghz at 144fsb, you would need a multiplier of 25 (which I have never seen)

If Im not seeing something, please let me know, but your numbers dont add up for me.

(\__/) Doctor Steel
(='.'=) "and then when no one expects it ... BAM !! No more unicorns" - Nyt Ryda
(")_(") Not that I don't trust you, but to be honest I don't really trust you. - Locutus