Overclocking An E8400 With A Psu That Has 4 X 12v Rails

Nephilumos

I'm a noob to the whole OC business, so here's what my system looks like:

CPU: C2D E8400

MB: EVGA Nvidia nForce 750i SLI FTW(Seriously, that's the name "for the win")

FSB:1333MHz(can be expanded)

GPU: 2x GeForce 8800GT's in SLI

Cooling: 3 x80mm fans, 1 x120mm fan, Stock Intel heatsink (planning on getting another 120mm intake fan)

RAM: 6Gb Dual channel DDR2 6400 800MHz OCZ memory

PSU: Brand OCZ

Model OCZ700GXSSLI

Series GameXStream

Spec

Type ATX12V

Maximum Power 700W

Fans 120mm fan x 1

PFC Active

Main Connector 20+4Pin

+12V Rails 4

PCI-E Connectors 2 x 6Pin

CrossFire Ready

SLI Certified

Modular No

Over Voltage Protection Yes

Input Voltage 100 - 240 V

Input Frequency Range 50/60 Hz

Input Current 10A @ 115V, 5A @ 230V

Output [email protected],[email protected],[email protected],[email protected],[email protected],+ [email protected],[email protected],[email protected]

Features

Connectors 1 x 20+4-pin ATX

1 x 4-pin/8-pin CPU

2 x PCI-Express

6 x 4-pin peripheral

2 x 4-pin floppy

6 x SATA

My psu is my main concern. I know that 4 12v rails is going to complicate things a bit, so I wanted to know if anyone was willing to give me some extra help as how to get a stable OC on my processor, and quite possibly my memory.

Also, here's the software I have for the OC process(I looked at the guides extensively):

Prime95

CPU-Z

HWMonitor(64-bit)

Realtemp

Any help at all would be appreciated ^.^

Edited by nitem4re

nitem4re

What worries do you have about the power supply?

You have a quality power supply there that is Nvidia certified for 2 x 8800GT in SLI so there shouldn't be a problem. Make sure you balance the load (12V1->Motherboard | 12V2->Fans, HDD, Rom Drives, etc. | 12V3->8800GT | 12V4->8800GT) to the power supply and everything will be fine.

What make/size sticks make up the 6GB of memory?

Regards

Paul

:withstupid: