Hd4850 Red Screen During Lotro

malmsteenisgod

Hi, I recently started playing the Lord of the rings online and after a few hours of playing I started getting some weird visuals, so I was about to restart the game when I got a red screen saying that my computer was shut down to prevent hardware failure. I lowered the OC on my card, and began playing again. After a few more hours I got a blue screen saying the same thing.

I have ran Crysis and Oblivion on this card at high settings and have never had a problem before. I thought this would be a heat issue, but I don't think my card is running very hot as I have the fan at 65% while playing games.

If not a heat issue, then what could it be?

Specs are in my sig and I'm using Catalyst 8.8

Edit: I have read that the North bridge runs really hot on my motherboard, so could it be that it's heating up my card a lot? Would it help to move the card to the secondary PCI-e slot?

Edited by malmsteenisgod

Ok, I think I've ruled out the possibility of it being heat related as i got a blue screen while I was just watching tv on my pc. Yes, that does require a bit of graphics card usage, but I still had my fan at 65% while doing this and I don't think it should have happened. So now I'm thinking it might be hard drive related, so I'll move my post to a more general section since this may have nothing to do with my graphics card. I will repost elsewhere if I continue to have problems and my hard drive scan shows no bad sectors.