Need some advice on (re)-build

Mods: If this post isn't the right place just move it (as I know you will)

OK, a brief recap is in order from a thread in the "Recommendations" forum. I had an AMD/socket 939 mobo die in my son's computer and am about to do a rebuild with an Intel setup before he starts college late spring. The new core is:

Gigabyte EP35-DS3P mobo

Quad 6600

4 GB G SKill

Corsair 620 HX (hopefully more quiet than old PCP&C)

...the rest of the old system is two opticals, Raptor 74 GB, BFG 6800, floppy, and XP PRO.

First question: I have plenty of experience with replacing failed hard drives and OS installs in that scenario. But this is the first time with a mobo failure/replacement, and a little birdie is singing...careful, careful. I'm thinking I DON'T want to boot the system with the old OS install on the HD, not because of config issues (which there might be), but primarily because the old OS install is going to see a new mobo/cpu/ram setup and may lock me out or do something weird to screw the pooch (for the record, its a legal purchased OEM version) . Am I right on this concern, and if so, how do you recommend I proceed. I need to get the data files off the hard drive before I wipe it, but I'm thinking I better wipe it in another rig as a slave drive so the OS doesn't know what is happening, and then proceed with a clean OS install?

I wouldn't worry about it,

If you want just boot it up w/ no HD connected to see it works. If you need stuff off the HD then hook it to another computer, then you could wipe it if you want. Then just plug the HD in and put the windows CD in and go.

yes....it will NOT boot with the AMD loaded OS on the drive...

If you need the info slave the drive into another pc and move all the stuff you wish to keep...while it's slaved reformat it inside windows...it will be much faster to load windows that way as it will just load files because you already formated it...