Jump to content


Photo

Best 64-bit OS?


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 alexfort93

alexfort93

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 802 posts

Posted 04 April 2008 - 02:28 AM

Which OS (Vista or XP) is best for 64-bit? I want to try it out on my MacBook, and I'm going to get 4GBs of RAM so I want it to be able to see them all.
MSI P35 Neo2-FR | E2180 @ 3.0GHz | 4GB (2x2GB) Corsair | Asus 4870 | WD 500GB | VX450 | Antec P180

#2 MACarter02

MACarter02

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1011 posts

Posted 04 April 2008 - 03:04 AM

Ubuntu 64 bit. If that were an option. :)

I don't know man, I read about problems with both.

#3 radodrill

radodrill

    Resident EI

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6915 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Almost Heaven

Posted 04 April 2008 - 03:25 AM

I'm running XP X64 and I like it a lot; the only thing to keep in mind is that peripheral driver support may be somewhat limited.

I personally would not run any flavor of vista as a primary OS.
Project RAD-GT

Hardware: DFI LanParty NF680i SLI LT T2R/G | Intel Q6600 G0 | OCZ 2x1Gb Reaper DDR2-1150
2x BFG 8800 GTX (650/2000) | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer | Silverstone Strider ST1000
WD 250Gb SATA | WD 400Gb SATA | Lite-On LH-20A1L SATA DVD-R/RW DL

Cooling: DangerDen TDX CPU| DangerDen Maze4 SB | DangerDen i875 NB
2x DangerDen 8800GTX | HW Labs BIX3 | HW Labs X-Flow BIX3 | LIANG D5

#4 ReelFiles

ReelFiles

    Posting Machine

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12218 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wrong Island

Posted 04 April 2008 - 05:12 AM

XP X64 is better than Vista x64 in my opinion.

#5 Zelig

Zelig

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 145 posts

Posted 04 April 2008 - 05:38 AM

Of the two, Vista 64-bit, no question.

There are situations where my first choice of OS would be XP 32-bit, Vista 32-bit, or Vista 64-bit, but never XP x64. I ran it on my main desktop rig for a few months, and it was a constant struggle to get my hardware/software all working for it, switching to Vista (as a Windows OS, 64-bit Linux OS's have been working beatifully for years) was a huge relief.

#6 radodrill

radodrill

    Resident EI

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6915 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Almost Heaven

Posted 04 April 2008 - 06:01 AM

but never XP x64. I ran it on my main desktop rig for a few months, and it was a constant struggle to get my hardware/software all working for it


Must've been some proprietary apps and HP printers/scanners. HP has refused to provide drivers for XP X64

The only thing I can't run in XP X64 is the TI-connect software for my graphing calculator; my network laser printer had 64-bit drivers available.
Project RAD-GT

Hardware: DFI LanParty NF680i SLI LT T2R/G | Intel Q6600 G0 | OCZ 2x1Gb Reaper DDR2-1150
2x BFG 8800 GTX (650/2000) | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer | Silverstone Strider ST1000
WD 250Gb SATA | WD 400Gb SATA | Lite-On LH-20A1L SATA DVD-R/RW DL

Cooling: DangerDen TDX CPU| DangerDen Maze4 SB | DangerDen i875 NB
2x DangerDen 8800GTX | HW Labs BIX3 | HW Labs X-Flow BIX3 | LIANG D5

#7 Zelig

Zelig

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 145 posts

Posted 04 April 2008 - 07:38 AM

Must've been some proprietary apps and HP printers/scanners. HP has refused to provide drivers for XP X64

The only thing I can't run in XP X64 is the TI-connect software for my graphing calculator; my network laser printer had 64-bit drivers available.


Some of the non-working software was proprietary, some was open source. Regardless of the nature of the software, I use the software that works best for my needs, and an OS loses a lot of use to me if it can't run the software that best suites my purposes.

From the top of my head, hardware of mine that didn't work nicely with xp x64 (other than my hp printer, and my ti-89): Audigy 2 ZS, Hauppauge HVR-950, iaudio 7, Panasonic voice recorder, Linksys usb network adaptor, Logitech Harmony remote, nvidia network adaptor.

#8 dr_bowtie

dr_bowtie

    Chronic Haggler...

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18282 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana....

Posted 04 April 2008 - 10:22 AM

I would use XP-64 over Vista 64 anytime...but prefer XP-32bit above all...

I would NOT buy either copy of 64bit....if you have it use it...but if you have to coin up for it dont bother....

I used XP-64 for about 2 years and I had no issues with it at all...but I dont print from here either...;)
Wii-Kart code 2707-2013-4642~~~~~~ Diablo 3 drbowtie#1495

Commodore64....playing Crysis on high

Posted Image

**Noctua Owners Club: Member #2 - NH-D14**


#9 alexfort93

alexfort93

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 802 posts

Posted 04 April 2008 - 10:40 AM

Printing really isn't a problem, I mean I could always just go into Mac OS X and print. But I just want to make sure I will have drivers available for my components. The only reason I want Windows is to play a couple games. I figured 64-bit so I can use all of the RAM.
MSI P35 Neo2-FR | E2180 @ 3.0GHz | 4GB (2x2GB) Corsair | Asus 4870 | WD 500GB | VX450 | Antec P180

#10 red930

red930
  • Guests
  • 0 posts

Posted 04 April 2008 - 10:54 AM

Printing really isn't a problem, I mean I could always just go into Mac OS X and print. But I just want to make sure I will have drivers available for my components. The only reason I want Windows is to play a couple games. I figured 64-bit so I can use all of the RAM.


No reason to switch then as I don't believe there is any game that require 4 gigs of memory yet.

That said, I always install XP x64 except for on my new computer, which I want to play some older games on.

#11 alexfort93

alexfort93

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 802 posts

Posted 04 April 2008 - 11:06 AM

Ok then if performance wise, it won't hurt much, now here's the real question should I try Vista or go back to XP ?
MSI P35 Neo2-FR | E2180 @ 3.0GHz | 4GB (2x2GB) Corsair | Asus 4870 | WD 500GB | VX450 | Antec P180

#12 dr_bowtie

dr_bowtie

    Chronic Haggler...

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18282 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana....

Posted 04 April 2008 - 11:14 AM

stay with XP....
Wii-Kart code 2707-2013-4642~~~~~~ Diablo 3 drbowtie#1495

Commodore64....playing Crysis on high

Posted Image

**Noctua Owners Club: Member #2 - NH-D14**