transfering large amounts of files

julioTRX450R

hi all. i need some help.

i have my desktop computer which is hooked up to a wireless router which is hooked up to the cable modem and then to the TV cable.

and i have a wireless SONY laptop with Vista. i have a 20gb partition on my 200gb hard drive which is used for My Music and My Docs and My Pics. so i have the desktop setup to save everything in those folders to the partition that i set aside for that. the other 168gb partition has XP on it and the games.

anyways. i wanna transfer files from the desktop to the laptop. i have 2 ethernet cables which are hooked up but i have tried to look up how to setup home networks. im not good at this. i just know how to build computers. the laptop does not have a COM cable either. just ethernet, modem, and USB and VGA

i dont have a dvd burner either on the desktop and i dont have many cds.

i would just like to know if theres a simple way to hook them up and transfer the 20gb partiont stuff to the other.

not to sure about vista but it should be the same as xp you will need a cross over cable rather than a traight ethernet cable it's wired slightly different.

are both computers on the wireless network you mentioned if they are just use the network wizard in xp and i presume vista hasd it as well

i have the laptop connected now to the router via ethernet cable and have set the C drives on the computers for sharing. i still cant find or make a network between the computers or w/e to transfer stuff. i thougt the other computers C drive would show up on the other so i could just drag and drop fiiles.

you need to run the network set up wizard in control panel you can also do it using you xp installation disc when you load the cd under addional tasks it has set up home or small office network you need to run that in both machines