Weird issue when overclocking DFI NF4 Ultra-D (SLI modded)

Hi all, I am new in all these bioses's stuff. I got my hands on a 2GB OCZ PC 4000 El Platinum kit. They sucessfully passed memtest passes @250 MHz. But each time I want to overclock @270 MHz, I have weird glitches and slowdown in D3D apps. I did an OCCT test for 6 hours and a half and it did not see any errors. The first time I did this test I had bios version 406 (official), now I flashed OCZ Tony's 704-2BTA and it seems this 'problem' does not occur up to 265MHz. Here is my configuration. Thanks for answering.

AMD Opteron 170

DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D (SLI Modded)

OCZ PC4000 El Platinum 3-3-2-7@1T

MSI Geforce 8600 GT Overclocked

Maxtor DiamondMax 10 80GB (ATA133) + Maxtor DiamondMax 21 320GB (SATA2)

LC Power 550 W

Bios 704-2BTA

OCCT and memtest are not definitive tests, while helpful in finding stability 3D apps are the first place memory errors and instabilities will show up.

Tony's 704 bios is what I used on pretty much all of my NF4's, it clocks memory better due to having a little slower internal timings. 265 is about where most of the 2GB kits give up, I had a couple that would get to 270 but never had that "sweet" set that would go any higher.

Different tests have different rates of error detection, I wish there was one test that would confirm stability but the truth is there is not. Only way to determine true stability is to use every available tool. Gaming, combined with prime95 is usually my best option for determining stability.

Haven't seen any 170's that are stable at 3Ghz with only 1.4V, the 3 opty's I have take at least 1.5v for 3G so that would be my starting point based on the info I have right now. It would help if I had more info to fill in the gap from 2.0Ghz to 3.0Ghz.

Ok I see, here is the the number written on my Opteron 170, could you tell me if this is a good one to overclock ? LCB9E 0703 XPMW

At 2GHz (stable) this is how I setup the bios

DRAM @ 200 MHz 3-3-2-7 1T