Jump to content


Photo

Windows XP SP3 & Windows Vista SP1 Pre-BETA Released


  • Please log in to reply
88 replies to this topic

#25 Guest_r3d c0m3t_*

Guest_r3d c0m3t_*
  • Guests

Posted 17 October 2007 - 10:21 PM

I just found out about this a few minutes ago, and I were wondering if anyone knew anything about the upcoming plethora of updates. I know there was a beta issued to users sometime during Sunday, and Windows X mentions that it may borrow a few of Vista's features.

I'm pretty interested in knowing what MS is, or what they're considering bring to the third build.

#26 ReelFiles

ReelFiles

    Posting Machine

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12218 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wrong Island

Posted 18 October 2007 - 02:05 AM

Merged your thread with this one rc,

..Contrary to popular belief, Windows XP SP3 does ship with all-new features - not just patches and hotfixes, most of them backported from Windows Vista:

* New Windows Product Activation model: no need to enter product key during setup. Thank God for that!

* Network Access Protection modules and policies have been brought to XP after being one of the more-well-received features in Windows Vista. You can read more about NAP here.

* New Microsoft Kernel Mode Cryptographic Module - the Windows XP SP3 kernel now includes an entire module that provides easy access to multiple cryptographic algorithms and is available for use in kernel-mode drivers and services.

* New “Black Hole Router” detection - Windows XP SP3 can detect and protect against rogue routers that are discarding data.

Windows XP SP3 is compatible with all versions of Windows x86, included Embedded, Fundamentals, Start, Professional, Media Center, and Home Editions.

Windows XP SP3 now contains 1,073 patches/hotfixes, not including those in previous service packs. Of the 1,073 included updates, 114 are for security-related issues. The remainder are updates to performance & reliability, bugfixes, improvements to kernel-mode driver modules, and many BSOD fixes...


http://neosmart.net/...lysis-included/

And of course the 'Thurrott link' This guy knows his stuff and is my first stop for info on the subject.

http://www.winsupers.../faq/xp_sp3.asp

#27 Guest_r3d c0m3t_*

Guest_r3d c0m3t_*
  • Guests

Posted 18 October 2007 - 11:40 AM

Merged your thread with this one rc,



http://neosmart.net/...lysis-included/

And of course the 'Thurrott link' This guy knows his stuff and is my first stop for info on the subject.

http://www.winsupers.../faq/xp_sp3.asp


Thanks. I didn't even notice there was already a thread for this. :sweat:

#28 red930

red930
  • Guests
  • 0 posts

Posted 20 February 2008 - 08:15 PM

Okay, Microsoft just release the RC2 for Service Pack 3. If you have the RC1 installed, you'll need to remove it before trying this registry hack from Microsoft . I'll be the 1st ginnie pig...

http://www.microsoft...&DisplayLang=en

#29 SpeedEuphoria

SpeedEuphoria

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 755 posts

Posted 20 February 2008 - 09:52 PM

Okay, Microsoft just release the RC2 for Service Pack 3. If you have the RC1 installed, you'll need to remove it before trying this registry hack from Microsoft . I'll be the 1st ginnie pig...

http://www.microsoft...&DisplayLang=en


If its build 3300 which I believe it should be, I've been running it and seems fine, I have it on a slipstream install. I dont notice anything faster compared to sp2 but who knows

#30 Guest_SuppA-SnipA_*

Guest_SuppA-SnipA_*
  • Guests

Posted 21 February 2008 - 05:04 AM

Okay, Microsoft just release the RC2 for Service Pack 3. If you have the RC1 installed, you'll need to remove it before trying this registry hack from Microsoft . I'll be the 1st ginnie pig...

http://www.microsoft...&DisplayLang=en


2nd Ginnie pig, ill install sp3 on my foxconn later today ;)
and vista sp1 is done, the RTM is already on TechNet for subscribers

#31 wevsspot

wevsspot

    I'm trying to be helpful.... really I am

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16283 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 21 February 2008 - 07:06 AM

I slipstreamed SP3 for XP into my last installation and so far everything has been peachy.

Man, it was nice not having 3000 Windows Updates and Hotfixes (ok, maybe I'm exaggerating a little). After SP3 I had exactly one update, and that was it.
40335406303_9d0700d9e9.jpg

#32 ReelFiles

ReelFiles

    Posting Machine

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12218 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wrong Island

Posted 21 February 2008 - 07:26 AM

Yep, I installed SP3 on all 3 of my rigs, the only update was the malicious software removal tool, can't beat that :D

#33 wevsspot

wevsspot

    I'm trying to be helpful.... really I am

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16283 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 21 February 2008 - 07:47 AM

the only update was the malicious software removal tool, can't beat that :D


Yep, when was the last time that happened from Microsoft. I was absolutely floored!
40335406303_9d0700d9e9.jpg

#34 EllisD

EllisD

    Drinkin Tha Kool-Aid

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2398 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:BC, Canada

Posted 21 February 2008 - 10:31 AM

Man, it was nice not having 3000 Windows Updates and Hotfixes (ok, maybe I'm exaggerating a little).


Nah, not exaggerating at all :eek:

I formatted about 2 weeks ago and fell asleep during the update.

After i got up and running, i made a slipstream disc and reinstalled (i think it was build 3228). I screwed up one of my slipstreamed apps though, so with the newer sp3 build out now, i can remake that disc.

Main | Opty 165 @ 289x9 | 2x1Gb Gskill HZ @ 260mhz | DFI NF4 Ultra-D | ATi x1900xt | Antec NEO HE550 | Audigy 2 ZS | XP Pro SP3 | Soyo 24" DYLM24D6 |
Main Cooling | DD TDX | DD Low Pro Maze4GPU | Swiftech MCR220 | Scythe Kaze Jyuni's @ 1600rpm 88cfm | Laing D5 Vario | 1/2" Tubing |
Server | E2180 @ 300x10 | 2x1Gb 996533 @ 450mhz | GA-P35-DS3L | 7300GT | SmartPower 450 | 600Gb of Space | 64bit Ubuntu 7.10 | 19" VX922 | Folding 24\7 |

http://folding.extre...EA201&c5=FEA201

| OCC Site Rules | Come Join Our Folding Team! | OCC Site FAQ |


#35 red930

red930
  • Guests
  • 0 posts

Posted 21 February 2008 - 02:04 PM

Well, so far so good with the 3311 build (RC2). Not sure about speed wise since i hardly use the system that much anymore, but knowing over hundreds of patches installed i feel sort of safe. he-he

#36 SpeedEuphoria

SpeedEuphoria

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 755 posts

Posted 21 February 2008 - 02:56 PM

Hey got a great tip/solution for you guys with SP3, I guess I'll post it here. If you have a program like I did that wont install on SP3(like Pinnacle Studio 11 in my case for some reason had to have SP2, and would abort the install.). A guy helped me out over on MSFN and posted the solution. Change these 2 reg settings and then install the program(restart 1st of course).

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESOFTWAREMicrosoftWindows NTCurrentVersion]
"CSDVersion"="Service Pack 2"
on this one it should currently say "Service Pack 3,build v.xxxx" you can just change the 3 to a 2 because even if you delete the build number it will show back up but it dosent matter.

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESYSTEMCurrentControlSetControlWindows]
"CSDVersion"=dword:00000200 or when you go to edit "200"
on this it should currently say "00000300" when you edit change it to "300". Also it has a "(768) and when you change it it wil be"(5xx)" dont worry about this as when you change it back by editing all is good

*restart required*

So the software will think its sp2. Then in my case I just changed it back after the successful install and restarted again, works like a dream. I'm not sure but some progs may require it to be left this way as SP2 to run?