The Official Nvidia 8800 Series Thread!

Angry_Games

Ok, so Foxconn sent me the new 8800GTS 320MB OC card, so this is my first attempt at anything 8800.

Having a few issues like low performance so far has made me cruise around the net and find some answer.

I want this thread to be something we can post in and I can update this first post with any new or good information.

I'll start first, and we'll add more as more becomes available:

• Old Nvidia Contorl Panel in new 8800 97.xx Series Drivers:

I've only tried this in the lastest version that I have installed at the moment, which is official Windows XP WHQL Certified 97.92 (which seem to suck but it is the only driver I have tried at the moment).

I do not know if it works or not on any other driver.

I do know that I HATE the stupid new Nvidia Control Panel, and ALWAYS go back to the old one...however since this is my first 8800 card, I didn't realize that ONLY the new CP is offered...

I'm off to check out some RivaTuner 2.0 Final in a bit, installing FEAR, CoH, HL2, etc to get it all done now ;)

• Replies 190
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• 3 weeks later...

I am looking at picking up the EVGA 8800GTS.

Angry, have you any more information on your card and how is that mod to the old CP working out?

I assume the stock cooler will work just fine. I am not sure I would even need to bother overclocking this monster , well not until I get a bigger LCD.

Hi guys, I have the EVGA 640mb 8800GTS and I am curious what are the temps you guys are getting. Right now Everest reads: 52C GPU, 57C Diode, 47C Ambient, 52 Mem. The main reason I am asking is just recently I took the 8800 apart and applied some arctic silver 5 and upgraded from a past version of everest to 3.80.941 Beta and now I'm getting readings that hasn't been there in the past. Sooo I was wondering if it's okay for the Ram to get as hot as the GPU (at load 65-70C)? Any help would be appreciated!