E6400 Peaking at 2.8Ghz - Why?

I went up the latter from: 2.14, 2.4, 2.6 ,2.778, then at 2.933 (8 x 367) It wouldn't boot unless I hit the reset button, ran until I Restarted, then no boot... I backed down to 2.809 (8x350) and everything's fine again.

My problem settings: 2.933Mhz= CPU Clock: 365Mhz, PCIE clock set: 105Mhz, CPU VID offset: +37.5mv, VTT V: 1.30v, DRAM V: 2.20V, NB CHIP V: 1.70V - this gave me CPU core of 1.262v and my temps were 33C-36C. DRAM time: 4.4.4.12 - 533mhz Refresh at 15.6. Rest of DRAM on AUTO.

At 2.8, with no problems, I just lowered the CPU Clock to 350Mhz, offset at either +37.5 or +50.0 works fine, I also lowered VTT to 1.25, DRAM to 2.15 and NB to 1.65.

Where am I going wrong? Is there another setting I need to go above 350Mhz CPU Clock? And you guessed it, I'm new to O.C...

Can you Pro's help me out with some tips that I'm missing?

Thanks, the Bum

975x 11/2006 BIOS

E6400 - right now at 2.809Mhz (350x8) (32%)

Zalman Heatsink BlueCooler - all air system.

connect3d Radeon X1900GT

Antec 650W

• Replies 35
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

You need a signature.

Welcome to the forums.

I didnt use the DFI's bios, but you shuld disable a couple of options like spread spectrum, c1e or something like that....intel speedstep, virtualization technology...etc etc.

Those settings are like fsb walls. ^^

Welcome to the forum you are going to like it.

Get a SIG up quick before you get in trouble with the Angry man.

I asked a similar question when I got my 975 & a guy called fmc_boss gave me these links I hope they help you out.

Guide by Technodanvan over at -dare i say it- 'DFI-Club',(http://csd.dficlub.org/pgpbb2/viewtopic.php?t=71)

There is also a wealth of info here http://www.diy-street.com/forum/showthread.php?t=64701 which most of the info was gathered from.