Sign in to follow this  
TmA

Stable with 2x512 dimms, wouldn't POST with 4

This is my first build and everything was smooth and painless and very stable for a week until I received my second pair of dimms today. After plugging them in and having them pass memtest, I decided to finally put in all four sticks and start some moderate overclocking - except now that it won't even POST. I tried switching to 2T and increasing the drive strength and nothing has worked so far. Error code is 07 and everything is running on stock speed. I read through the forum and realized that 4 sticks tend to be more picky on RAM settings, but as I mentioned this is my first build and I consider myself to be quite a newbie and has much to learn, so any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. :)

If you want to get up and running, pull the two sticks of extra memory you have. Start with one stick in the orange slot furthest away from the CPU. Take the plug out from the back of the power supply, and use the jumper( on my board its a read jumper) to clear the cmos for at least 10secs. The procedure should be outlined in your manual.

After you do all of this and replace the clr cmos jumper back on the default pins, then plug the plug back into the power supply and reboot your system. If the system boots, then shut down, take the plug out from the back of the Power supply again, and put your other stick of memory in. Now you should have memory in both the orange slots and can plug your power supply back in and reboot. Once you get your system booting again and are able to get into windows, do a google search for OCZ Tony and CFX-3200. You will find a page to help you get your initial settings and you can go from there. Keep in mind that you are much better off running 2 x 1MB sticks instead of 4. When running 4 double sided memory sticks you are only going to get DDR333 performance.

Jason

Jason

Guest Jack Stand

I think this is the link mentioned above.