Instability when overclocking

mrowz0r

I'm only able to overclock my FSB to 220 mhz. I'm totally new to this (have read some of the guides stickied) but I'm wondering if the stock timing on my Memory has anything to do with it. When I purchased my 2nd stick of ram I didn't realize it was actually different than the first stick. This was about 2 years ago so there's no way I can return it.

My question I suppose is do I need new ram? Also wondering if the fact that I have no idea what my PSU is could be part of the problem. I'm considering getting a new one as I have heard that having a good PSU is critical to stable overclocking.

Also having issues when I try to overclock my RAM, it seems to get unstable real quick.

Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

Welcome to the Street

….When I purchased my 2nd stick of ram I didn't realize it was actually different than the first stick. This was about 2 years ago so there's no way I can return it…My question I suppose is do I need new ram?....Also having issues when I try to overclock my RAM, it seems to get unstable real quick.
Get the same memory. Run memtest and test your memory with tests #5 and #8 for 15-20 passes each. Then do all tests for 20 passes.

Also wondering if the fact that I have no idea what my PSU is could be part of the problem. I'm considering getting a new one as I have heard that having a good PSU is critical to stable overclocking.
Stability starts here with stable volts. Get a quality PSU for stability. The Recommend PSU list is also good for your rig.

not good to run different sticks in that board and make sure you got them in slots 1 & 3 ( With the slow 3-4-4-8 stick as slot 1 and set the memory to 3-4-4-8) and do not use sata ports 1 & 2.(As you will not get past 235fsb with port 1 & 2). And your PSU dont be in a big hurry to change it just yet . As its not the hungry nf4 board

Mrowz0r,