Questions about wireless routers and my bandwidth

Guest shaolin95_merged

Guest shaolin95

Hi!

I am considering going wireless but this is my concern. I love my comcast connection at 8mb download. I am an avid Soldier of Fortune 2 gamer and dont want to lose any speed. Right now I have a 4 port router that I got from my vonage days. When I am playing I make sure my wife is not downloading anything just to make sure I dont give my enemies any chances :-)

I am confused about wireless routers though. Since a router is kind of always transmitting...does that mean I am losing bandwidth at all times? If thats the case then I guess my current router will be a better fit right? I work for Radio Shack and we just drop the price on a netgear router for 39.99 plus you get a $20 gift card not to mention I get discount so what do you think?

Regards

PS I want the wirless so that I can use my laptop when in bed and not having to buy a 50' cable to do it.

Guest shaolin95

So you can do that...that sounds cool then. I should have known :-)

It seems like a good deal then, basically $20 :-)

Even so the router is always transmitting the available bandwidth should only decrease if there are "client" computers connected to it. Most routers have the option for MAC filters so you could limit who can have access; of if necessary turn off the wireless transmitter.

If the computers on your wireless network are not actively getting things from the Internet, the only bandwidth you are using is between those computers and the router. Your connection to your ISP is untouched.

Routers are pretty smart devices. They only go to the internet when they need to.

remember to not secure it ;) ,neighbors needs to access the internet too!