Help me PUSH IT to 2.8 ghz

MD1078

Hi everyone,

I'm very new to the overclocking world, although I've had my DFI board and AMD 64 3700 for almost a year now. I'd like to push my machine to get more out of it, but everytime i try different FSB settings, I get the BSOD.

Here is my exact set up:

Mainboard : DFI Corp,LTD LP NF3 250GB

Chipset : nVidia nForce3 250

Processor : AMD Athlon 64 3700+ @ 2400 MHz

Physical Memory : 1536 MB (3 x 512 DDR-SDRAM ) 3 Corsair

Video Card : ATI Technologies Inc Radeon X800 Series

Memory is:

Manufacturer : Corsair

Part Number : CMX512-3200C2

Serial Number : Unspecified

Type : DDR-SDRAM PC3200 (200 MHz) - [DDR-400]

All voltages set to auto.

Running in Windows XP SP2

Does anyone have a similar system that they've gotten alot out of? I have the stock CPU Fan and Heat Sink and an Antec P160 Case (2 chasis fans).

Thanks in advance.

1st of all...

Welcome to the Street...

2nd... create a sig as per rules....(you agreed to do so)

3rd.... look in the OCDB for a system or systems close to yours and see what they get...2.8 seems the limit for a 3700 but you'll have to give it more juice than Auto....;)

Well as bowtie said, you really need to create a sig first so we know exactly what you are working with.

If you are getting bsod at just a few mhz over stock then you will likely need to up you vcore. The best way to learn about overclocking is to read, memorize and read again the "Guide to overclocking". You can find the link to it under my sig. Give it a thorough reading and then come back at it empowered with some great knowledge and how to. (READ BEFORE YOU TRY CHANGING ANY VCORE SETTINGS!!) I'll stop yelling now but that board, as with all Lan Party boards, has some very serious power behind it and if you don't know what you are doing you'll fry that cpu before you even start.

Keep us updated though, and ask away with any questions you have.

Welcome to the Street!