Lapping

yonton228

I have read multiple threads across many different forums about lapping both the CPU IHS and the CPU cooler. I know that lapping is supposed to yield better results when cooling than when it comes to not lapping (specifically when either the CPU IHS or the CPU cooler is convex/concave) However I have been having a hard time finding results on before and after temps when it came to lapping. So, I have a couple of questions; 1. Did you lap either of the 2 mentioned items? 2. What were the temps, both before and after.

Thanks for taking the time to read this post.

-yonton228/timmy

I can't really comment on lapping the IHS, as I have no actual personal experience. But I have lapped a lot of different heat sinks and I can say from experience that you can get 1-5C temp drop just from lapping the HS. Sometimes the temp drop doesn't show up at idle, sometimes only at full load. So I would say to record your current temps. then lap the heat sink first.

Some of the newer high end coolers come stock pretty flat, but others really need a good lapping to take out machining imperfections and flatten out the mating surface. My advice is to look at what you got. If you don't like it, start by lapping the HS. Then try it. If you are happy with the temp drop, then fine. If not try the IHS. But be careful.

Hope this helps a little.

I suggest to verify EVERY cooler, even the high end ones wich shows a mirror finish base.

I've had a Zalman CNPS 9500 led wich worked very well, but after a LONG and HARD work (i've found it very difficult to handle...) lowered my CPU temps by 5-6° C at full load.

Then i've moved to a thermalright si128 wich initially shows very good performance (very close to the lapped zalman), since i've took it down to change the CPU.

A very bad surprise when it scrached the CPU IHS in the removal operation: the base was concave!

So i've had to lap also this one.