Sign in to follow this  
kipper123

Help With Overclocking

I hope this is in the right place this is a whole new experience for me I am new to amd DFI Lanparty and DFI STREET. I have been into computrs for about six years now. It all started with a machine I bought from computer infomercial on TV. I started surfing the net and accidently came on the site of cluboverclocker.com and that was the start of my new hobby. I have read many reviews of the lanparty boards so about 5 week's ago I decided to buy one I slso bought an Athlon64 X2 4800+ the memory I started using was XMS CMX 1GB PC3200C2 Dual channel kit and tried my hand at overclocking. To say the least it wasen't a real good experience about the best I could get was about 2210MHZ FSB I think the reason for that was not the hardware but my experience or lack of. I went to my favorite etailer and strarted shopping I bought the opteron 170 and the crucial ram. I looked at quite a few of the tutorials in this forum and I copied and pasted a lot of them to note pad so I could print them. I've the opteron and ram about 4 days now I let the system run for a couple of days before I started to overclock I nomally shut down when the comp isn't being used. I haven't hit a wall yet but I'm starting to get worried now I haven't tweaked any volts except the ram the bios defaults to 2.66 and the spec for this ram is 2.8 so that is what I set at. the timmings are set to spec. 3-4-4-8 I have CPC set for 2T tWR is set to 3 all other settings are set to auto. FSB is 283 core speed is 2834 ram is 283.4 TRC 16 multiplier is x10 HT 850.3. I ran several test from memtest86 from the bios because this is one of the features in this bios. Do I have to worry about burning up the processor running it this fast. I'm running the ram speed at 1/1 200 mhz bus speed. I ran 2 ocassion's of prime95 one for each core both at the same time but I only ran it for about 2 hrs. Everything seemed to be stable with no crashes in memtest I had no error