Sign in to follow this  
MattC

Very unpredtictable boot on expert, almost never.

Hey how is going? This is my first post, but I have been checking out the forum for 2 months or more. I know this is another boot/post thread. But my problem started a week ago, and I haven't posted til now because I wanted to search for a posting that was similar. Alas I have not found one that is completely like mine. My system specs are in my sig. So here goes.

A week ago I recieved my watercooling setup. And while I was installing the chipset block, I accidently broke one of the capacitors/resistors on my videocard. I didn't know this at first, and after about 10-15 failed attempts to boot, I recognized it. Being an optimistic person I tried soldering the piece back on the vidcard. And luckily it worked. But once I had the card working again my real problem started. This fact may be a total coincidence since I don't see why it would cause the following problem.

My problem is with the motherboard now. When I try to boot, I get very unpredictable results. When I boot I either get all 4 debug lights or none. And then sometimes it will start. Almost never though. And when it is running if I need to restart or go to bios and save and exit it doesn't come back.