4pin CPU Fan header

i have recently bought a DFI LanParty NF590 SLI-M2R/G board. looks cool, havn't tried it yet though, still waiting on my RAM to be delivered.

there is a 4pin CPU fan header, the manual says the extra 4th pin is for speed control, but i can't find any other information about it anywhere. maybe i'm just not looking properly.

anyway, does anyone have any information on how i can attach a standard 3pin CPU Fan to this 4pin header.

note, i am an electronics engineer, and have been building and servicing computers for several years now. being an electronics engineer, i don't mind having to contruct something to modify my existing fan(its part of a full copper heatsink, so, i don't really want to replace it. it came with a manual speed control backplate, which contains a circuitboard, and potentiometer, maybe this can be adapted to work for me?).

anyway, what i am looking for is the technical specs on this 4th pin. what kind of voltages or signals does it output, what do the voltage levels or signals mean? from these 2 peices of information alone i can build a small circuit that will vary the speed of the CPU fan.

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

don't get me wrong but are you sure, it's a silly question but is it a floppy power connecter cause i've never seen a 4 pin fan black earth red 12v and yellow speed maybe use an adapter for you cpu fan and run it direct from the psu

don't get me wrong but are you sure, it's a silly question but is it a floppy power connecter cause i've never seen a 4 pin fan black earth red 12v and yellow speed maybe use an adapter for you cpu fan and run it direct from the psu

look at the layout of the mobo, it really does have a 4-pin CPU fan connector, he's not mistaken, yet I don't know what's the 4th pin for...