Sign in to follow this  
Iceman54

What Benchmark?

I have got my CPU to the fastest I can get it on Air. What I want to know is what is the best program to run to test me memory settings while I tweak them? I was using 3DMark but it just doesn't seem to be what I need.

Prime 95 blend seem's to work good for ram and also run the 3dmark03 test for 3d stability. Window's based memtest to at least 1000% coverage also works pretty good.

I am new at this but how exactly will Memtest tell me if the changes I make are for the best or worst? That goes for 3DMark03 too. I just am trying to find something that will show me if the changes are better or worse?

I know that Memtest shows if the memory is stable and the same for 3DMarks but I just want to see if its better or worse.

memtest will give you raw unbuffered memory bandwidth

each change within the DRAM timings of the board will raise or lower the unbuffered bandwidth and you can see the change with each reboot and entry into Memtest

3dMark 3d benchmarks will not show enough performance increase or decrease unless you use the older 3dMark2001SE as it is more cpu dependent than any other version that we use for testing

Prime95 will not show any indication of performance, it will only test stability and generate a lot of heat (this is a good thing)

Memtest86 is too unrefined... while Prime95 is soo demanding. I would suggest you try SuperPi32 and see if it finish the whole test, if it doesn't check out what type of error you get... sometimes one type refers to cpu being unstable, while another one says the RAM needs adjusting.

SuperPi is not meant for this... but together with Memtest and Prime95 will be something in between those two.

You can use everest to test read and write but will not tell you if it is stable. Didn't realize you were just trying to find best performance just be sure to test for stability too. Really suck's when window's corrupts on ya.