[OC] Is 225 HTT my CPU max potential? CPU not stable with even 225 HTT

hiii

Im new to OC'ing.. I increased my HTT from 200 to 230 and my system wouldnt boot and when kept at 225 it would boot but system wasnt stable..

i wanted to know if thats how far my system can go or if some setting are incorrect..

all the settings are default and i just up'ed the HTT to 225 and 230 and faced these issues.. is it due to not increaing voltage?

Or does that mean thats how far i can go with my CPU? is that my CPU's max potential? or can i take it further if i do it properly?

also wanted to know if its fine to just up the RAM timing from 3-3-3-8 to 2.5-3-3-8 or 2-3-3-8 ? what would happen if i did so straight away? does the voltage need to be up'ed for it? what would happen if i didnt up the voltage?

Thanx,

What is the exact model of ram + Rev #

I doubt the psu is on the recommended list,though I suspect ram is holding you back.

I've seen plenty of the same cpu's as yours go much higher HTT w/right ram and settings

If your new to OCin or DFI MB good reads,

http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/showthread.php?t=20823

http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/showthread.php?t=40178

You don't mention the use of any dividers so I assume you are running your CPU and RAM on a 1:1 ratio. That is: when you put your HTT to 225 your ram is also running at 225. It is likely that you are just finding the max of your RAM, you could try using a memory divider to allow you to take the HTT up further, while keeping your RAM below 225.

More info in the overclocking guide - here

As for voltages, increasing them may help you to tighten the timings. Have a look in the overclocking database to see if anyone has the same RAM sticks as you, and what they are getting out of them.

whats the stepping and revision got to do with OC'ing?

Corsiar has made a lot of XMS memory 2x512

That's why it may be useful to know exactly the model and rev.,it indicates what chips are on the ram.