Sign in to follow this  
michaelzhao

Painting a Case, few questions...

What kind of paint do you use?

How do you finish with the high gloss that a lot of cases seem to have?

How do you paint around fan holes and such?

Where do you buy the paint? Home Depot or a hobby store?

How do you put final touches on the paint, using a brush? If so, what kind of brush?

I'm an absolute noob to painting. I don't know anything about types of paint or stuff.

Thats a nice tutorial but really does anyone want to spend a month painting a case...2 weeks allowing the paint to set...and all that, I mean dont get me wrong thats an amazing paint job...but is there something that works a little faster?

I guess you could just go for something about 1/4 as good as what this guy is doing...and that would take like a week or two?

For the fastest best results...use a clearcoat-basecoat system....

The key to a good paint job is in the prep work... If you have a good finish now just lightly scuff it and use a good grade primer/sealer then use the base and clear from the same brand....

Use a fast dry for best reasults and follow the can instructions....light coats and let the paint "flash" before recoating...

these work very well with spray cans....you dont have to san in between coats as long as you recoat after the paint flashes...then for a mirror finish...that it all hand finessing....

I use Miguires cutting and buffing compounds...I sand with 600 working my way to 1500grit and finish it with polishing compound....

It is alot more work cutting and polishing than painting...you can paint a case start to finish in a weekend....but the paint will be soft for upto 30 days...so dont set anything on it for a while...