Ram passes memtest, still just beeps

Okay ive been searching these forums for a few days found various posts about this problem but i never seem to see solutions, here we go.. ive run memtest on both sticks of the 512 corsair xms ram i have and it passes (only for 30 mins each )

im quite new to this stuff, but when i run 1 stick in #2 (orange) its fine, it completes 30 mins on memtest with no errors at all, tried the other stick did the same that was fine too, now when i try and run the 2 of them together i get that horrible sounding dram error beep, and i get this whether i run the ram in slots #1/#3 or #2/#4 ALSO 1 single bit of ram wont work if i run it in jusyt #3/#4.. this tells me that only slots 1/2 are working correctly, i know theres been alot of posts about people having these problems, but they just seem to go quiet..

what have people done ? sent the boards off ? only ran their ram in single channel ?

ive also seen people having this problem with various types of ram, so i dont really wanna go out spending a fortune on more ram to find i have the same problem..

help pleasE :(

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

actually it doesnt tell you only slots 1/2 are working correctly, because with one stick of memory they are the only ones supposed to work correctly.

i know my corsair stuff only runs in the yellow slots, but im replacing it anyway. Best way to be sure is to boot with 1 stick, set some loose timings, and then try and boot in dual channel. DFI boards to tend to dislike corsair, but with loose timings most of it can be made to work.

what timings are you running it at the moment. Also 30 minutes of memtest means jack all in terms of getting into windows, but at least its showing up!

do you have any mates with decent ram you can borrow to test your board?

2-2-2-5 t1 im running at the mo

my mates think im a geek, so no they only have the cheapest of the cheap ram :)