Onboard Sound?...

Hi all! I just ordered the configuration in my sig from newegg.com and I'm just wondering what the deal is with the onboard sound for the Ultra-D. I see that it is a seperate module in the pictures...so do you just take it and attach it to the board?

How does that all work?

I'm new to dfi-street so please forgive me if this question is n00bish!!

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Guest Retratserif
i gota buy a sound card cus the module gets in the way of my case fan and soon to be water system

I used the area where the onboard sound to fit my tubing through. I used a piece of static free plastic "so much laying around atm" and foam that came with my Razer mouse pad "excess that wasnt used for more noise canceling". I cut a strip foam roughly 6 inches long and 1 inch wide, then plastic 8 inches long and 3 inches wide. wrapped the faom in plastic and fused them with a sodering iron. Any iron will do, or even a lighter if you can pull it off with out lighting it up in flames. Then I slowly bent the onboard area of the I/O shield untill it was one large hole. I used small needle nose plyers, they also had a cutter in the middle to clip off the jaggies. Filed the rest down a bit, and inserted the plastic covered foam. Gently slid the tubes through.

Oh yeah.... Your answer is in the manual dude. Its fairly easy. Just read the instructions carefully and you really cant go wrong.

Yes...you'll need to attach it to the motherboard as it comes in a separate bag thingy...but don't worry it's fairly easy to install....just make sure the white plastic things are aligned with the holes in the mobo so they can snap in place...