test memory voltage with a multimeter

This post owes completely to EMC2. All I did was take his/her discoveries and post them here.

I'm sort of a noob here so if this is already common knowledge feel free to erase this thread. However, today I spent about an hour searching the web for a way to test my memory voltage independant of the BIOS reading. I didn't find anything OBVIOUS at DFI street so I searched other forums. Everywhere I went things seemed pretty cryptic. Also, I found a number of people questioning how they could test their memory voltage. I finally stumbled upon the answer and have decided to post it here. Hopefully it will be somewhat useful.

First, when I went into Genie Bios and looked at my memory voltage and saw it go from 2.65 to 2.69 with no obvious pattern, I wondered if this was correct since my voltage was set at 2.60. I grabbed my multimeter and tested and sure enough it told me that my voltage was a STEADY 2.63, It didn't matter what my bios registered, it was steady at 2.63.

If you want to find test compare measure vdimm dimm voltage mem memory with a digital meter multimeter volt voltmeter (i'm trying to think of all the keywords i can to make this an easy post to find) then you've come to (what I feel is) the right place.

Determining your vmem mem volts is easy, at least on the sli-dr. Please check out the link below for pics.

Here's a link to the original post where I found this info. IN POST #10 ON THIS PAGE YOU'LL FIND A PICTURE WHICH MIGHT HELP! It's the top right pic in post #10.

[url=http://xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?p=777631#post777631%5burl%5d%5dhttp://xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?p=777631#post777631]xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?p=777631#post777631http://]http://xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?p=777631#post777631