Unique windows install problem?

Hello everyone!

My name is Torgny, writing this first of many posts from Sweden.

I have followed the forum here at dfi-street for some time because I wanted to take the plunge into the Lanparty series of mobo´s.

I am a noob, I admit. I have never tried a DFI mobo before but I heard that they´re the best and I wanted the best. Someday, when my little problem has been solved, I might try and OC it...

I have searched the forum for this type of problem and it seems to be a unique problem just for me... and it sucks...

Ok, here goes...

Everything has gone fine, building computer, connecting cables and so forth.

But when I try and install windows, it goes through the whole installation to the point where it restarts automatically(because the installation will proceed after the restart it says). But then it just continues installation from scratch, like an endless loop...

I have tried everything I can think of.

-cleared CMOS

-Checked all cables, switched all cables

-run Memtest (OK)

-Switched slot for memory 1-->2 and back again

-tried dfferent XP disc

-tried changing to optimal BIOS settings

-tried different optical drivers

-Switched IDE slots for HDD and optical drivers

- Even switched a little jumper on the back of my 80Gb HDD to make it master... that only made it half the size...

Honestly, I have no clue of what to do and I would hate to throw in the towel...

Please help me!

//Steken

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

just start with one h/d are they both pata you might have them set as slave or both as master i had the same problem with a scsi card until i found the contoller card had no boot function

I set the jumpers on the back of the HDD to master setting, but then half(40Gb) dissapeared... I have never had any problems with that drive on my old rig...

I´ll try and change it again though.