problem with O/C

Pinni3

Im new in o/c and I need your help. I cant overclock my cpu more than 240 :( I have fsb 240 x 10 with HT x4. I tried with ht x3 and other cfg like 250x9 and it doesnt work..My mate told me to try change somethin with memories but they are 500mhz but also when Im changin memory ratio its same..I tried also to give more volts for CPU, Chipset and memories..I updated bios to the newest one on Dfi web...damn...ppl help me - on fsb240 os is full stable...but when Im tryn to run 241x10 its freeze.. :( sometime computer stoppin at loadin windows... sometimes at raid detector from nvidia..dont have Idea how to run my cpu faster..and I wanna get more from my gskills :( please help

Greetz

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I could be wrong, but it sounds like you're running into a memory limitation. Check the thread I initiated that's just a few down the list. I could only get mine to run @ ddr333 speeds with 2x1024 in it, but the OC on the processor is great and stable. Besides, Super PI scores indicate that it's more than competitive for my needs!

Try turning your DRAM down to a 1:2 multiplier first with the HTT @ 3x, and then play with the CPU speeds (fsb and mult).

After that, reverse the process and UNDERCLOCK your CPU while you mess around and get your RAM as far as they will go.

All of this is in the O'C guide that's stickied in the O'C Forum, and it's a really great reference. He also indicates that you need to keep the HTT down - mult x fsb shouldn't be over 800 (double that to get the actual HTT #, I believe), so at 240 x 3 you'd be okay. At 240 x 4 you'll likely be outta luck.

Good luck and keep us posted!