OCZ 2x1gb DDR400 Woes

Newbie here, so go easy if ya can! Incidentally, this machine's going to be used for CAD work, and the raytracing I do likes CPU speed as well as 2 gB of memory.

This is my second box built around this old but great board. I have already run the CPU up to my intended speeds (2.99) with memory and LDt/FSB mult. in conservative settings, and it's simply great and runs cool (41degC in Prime95). Then, I went to set the RAM up.

It wouldn't go past about 160 mHz! If I put in one stick, it'll clock up to 260 with decent timings and pass memtest 100% no problem. I tested both sticks this way, so I don't *think* they're defective. I've tried going to 2T, running 2.5-5-5-10, disabling interleaving, 2.9V on the DRAM and 1.8V on the chipset.... I went to the most recent bios, pulled the cord, pulled the battery etc., but so far, no satisfaction.

I'm not after killer rates - I just want the stock DDR400 out of these things, but I'd even accept the next level down. DDR300, on the other hand, seems a bit lame.

Essentially, I can get it to boot without going into "detecting array" at just a hair over 160, but it still won't pass memtest.

The sticks are rated at 2-3-3-8 at 2.8V, but...

I feel like I must be missing something obvious. Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance,

Thanks, guys! I have tried nearly all the dividers, and it still seems to boil down to a limit of about 160 mHz in cpu-z with this combination so far.

Right now, I'm running memtest @ 230x13 on the cpu, mem @7/10 and ldt/fsb@ 3. It seems stable, so I'll progress to the A64Tweaker trick in an hour or so. I really appreciate you sharing that tip with me. Incidentally, it appears cpu-z doesn't recognize the 7/10 divider and reports the memory frequency as blank. Nevertheless, it should be essentially 161 mHz.