Sign in to follow this  
oandrew

RAID 0 in Ubuntu

Hi,

I am new in using Ubuntu. I currently using a RAID 0 setup on a SLI-DR with windows XP and BootMagic setup. When I install the Ubuntu, it did not detect my RAID and the partitions in Windows. I wonder where I can load my RAID driver disk during setup? Any other thoughts? Where can I download the RAID driver for Linux? I can't find it on the offical NV site.

raid arrays tend to be very problematic in many linux distros. As I am not familiar with running raid in any linux distro, I would suggest checking out www.linuxquestions.org there are a lot of linux gurus there that have answered any and all question/problems I have had in the past.

Yup I gave up went to the old hated ATA. At least it is enough more effecent that yuou dont notice the lack of raid.

There is a very good Ubintu forum you can ask there.

I asked on the Ubuntu forum. People said that if the harddrives are detected but they are not in raid the RAID is consider a software raid (aka fakeraid). Isn't the NV raid a hardware raid?

It should be hardware raid, but maybe the driver is missing, as in windows you add the driver with the F6 during install.

on ubuntu's wiki there is a guide on fakeraid.

for more info on ubuntu, check the wiki at:

https://wiki.ubuntu.com/

Guest Lord Sauron

No NVRAID is a software RAID. You cant transfer the RAID array to a different controller for instance. Its software on a BIOS level. See here : http://linuxmafia.com/faq/Hardware/sata.html#nvidia

True hardware RAID controllers cost a lot of money ($120+ for a real basic one), and usually come with Cache memory on them to improve performance and a seperate CPU to hand the RAID.