Got offered a job as a computer technician, 16 years old

Currently I work as a bus boy at a local restaurant for $7 an hour. I work only one day a week and make only $200 a month. Recently I was approached with a job offer. A network admin/head honcho from my school disctrict approached me and asked if I'd be interested in working as a computer technician over the summer for $10 an hour. Here's the catch. 30 hour work weeks. At 16 I like to hang out with friends, girls, skateboard, and, of course, game. At this point, I don't know if this would be beneficial or detrimental to my life. I want to get into something related to computers but have no idea what. Would this look good on my resume? (currently working on CISCO certification, that's how I got contacted) Should I take it or just be a kid for as long as possible? I am aware that most people here are older and obviously more experienced. I'd hate to not take this job and be denied a job later on. I don't want my 16 year old ignorance to cloud my decision making.

• Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

money. and on top of that experiance. documented experiance is too important for your future.

in any job. epsecially if its a kind of experiance with computers where your working w/out supervision.

keep in mind that a measly 30 hour work week that wont interfeer with a social life.

ive worked 70 hour weeks before and still had time for weekends.

also keep in mind your gettig a foot in the door for working on a perminate basis

not taking this job doesnt mean u'll get denied later on (probably by the same head honcho but i dunno...just give a good reason ;) )

BUT working as the technician will look good on ur resume....

beside, 30hr/week is not that bad at all... $10 is a good deal. i work at my college as computer lab technician for $11....

Guest Timmay