Power Supply Question

Hi all! Ok Im not new to computers by any means however I am new to building them , so I apologize for sounding like such a noob...lol! Anyway, Im in the process of building a new system (my first one actually) and after MUCH research and a LOT of thought I've decided to go with a DFI mobo. But before I pick one up I need some clarification on a power supply issue. I've read in quite a few places, including this forum, that a true 24 pin main needs to be used on these boards. I have and Ultra X connect II 550W modular PSU with a 20+4 main power connector. The end of the cable that plugs into the psu is 24 pins and the end that goes to the mobo is 24 pins also, however the last 4 pins can be pulled away for use on a 20 pin board. I read a review about the expert board on a website and the person mentioned that a 20+4 couldnt be used, it could only be 24 pins. so I guess my question is will the PSU I bought work or did i waste my money?? Also are there any other connections needed besides the 8 pin 12v?? Again I apologize for sounding like a noob but I just want to be sure?? I would really appreciate any help/info. Thanks again guys.

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Do I need any other power connections besides the main and the 8 pin 12v?? the reason i ask is because of this quote...... the floppy power connector seems strange but then again i am new to this.

"This board is power hungry, make sure you have a good power supply around 500 watts and it supports a 24 pin connector, (most power supplies have a 20 pin connector). There are 4 power connectors needed to run this board, the 24 pin connector, a seperate 4 pin connector, a 4 pin molex, and last a floppy power connector. If you want to have a floppy on your system, you'll need a power supply with 2 floppy power connectors."

i would say you did waste your money on that psu, because it is known to be a pos...imho