Sign in to follow this  
ButtChew

Does This Look Good?

I'm finally building my first PC, and after reading through lots of material here and other places I have come up with the following setup which I plan on ordering soon. Before doing so, I thought I'd ask for any opinions/advice/concerns about it. Each component has the link to newegg in case there is more info needed:

Processor:

AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Toledo 1GHz Dual Core

Processor Cooling:

Thermalright XP-90

Mobo:

DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 SLI-DR Expert

RAM:

OCZ Gold GX 2GB (2 x 1GB) PC 4000 Unbuffered Memory

Video Card:

eVGA Geforce 7900GT 256MB PCI Express x16

Hard Drives:

HITACHI Deskstar 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s

(two of them on Raid0, total of 500GB)

Power Supply:

OCZ PowerStream 520W

Case:

ASPIRE X-Navigator ATXA8NW-SS

NewEgg WishList

I will primarily be using it for gaming, but Im a graphic designer so I also use it for such programs. For now it will be air cooled, and will consider OC'ing and water cooling once I feel comfortable with that. My case is still undecided, still looking for a good one. I also plan on adding a second card for SLI. I'm using the reccomended PS and RAM as suggested by the experienced here at DFI street, so hoping not to have any problems there.

Also, what HS would you guys reccomend for my processor? There are so many with mixed reviews.

Any advice on this build would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks ahead of time.

-Chew

I wouldn't bother spending an extra $100 for an nVIDIA 7800GTX when you can purchase a 7900GT for less and still have the same performance. Plus the 7900GT can reach higher speeds in frequencies when overclocked even on air. I hope this helps...

Look at this one...it's only $329 compared to the one you picked at $449. Now look how they are nearly all sold out even. Go figure....

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?...N82E16814143048