Need your approval!

old_geekster

Hey all,

This is my first time posting on the forum, but I have been following along for about a month. In fact, it is this forum that has me excited about trying my hand at OC-ing.

Thanks to Angry_Games and DFI for a great forum. I have learned more here than any other forum that I have visited.

I have been into computers since 1984. I know---that makes me an old_geekster, but I do learn fast, however.

My first computer was an Apple Mac with one 3.5" floppy; no harddrive.

I have never built a computer from scratch. However, I have completely upgraded the box that I have now. It is a HP 9905 (Configurable) w/ Full-case. I would use the existing case, but I am concerned about heat problems. It is 4 1/2 years old.

The system that I listed in my sig is still a dream. I haven't purchased any of the items at this point. I wanted to get your advice on any compatibility issues.

I may even update the processor to an X2, but haven't been convinced that it would be necessary.

My latest games are Splinter Cell-Chaos Theory and Brothers In Arms - Road to Hill 30. I also have FarCry and many other first-person shooters.

Now that I have introduced myself, I would appreciate your help and advice.

I know DFI boards can give a noob headaches, but I am willing to take it slow.

Will my proposed system be good enough for all of the new games that are on the market?

I will appreciate any help!

Looks great to me. I'm not too famaliar with the PSU, but if it's on the approved PSU list, then everything should be fine.

One suggestion I would make is that instead of buying a single raptor, buy two, maybe even three depending on how much the raptor costs, 80GB Hitachi Desktars and RAID them together. You'll see much better results for roughly the same price.

1) any reason you are not going for an X2 (aside from cost?)

If you plan to overclock, that may be a better overall choice, especially maybe an opteron.