Sign in to follow this  
pandamonia

Amd 4800 X2

Hi there i am new to all this and i have been reading alot about over clocking and im tryin to make sence of the OC guide.

what i was goin to ask is that i know people are OC'ing to like 3ghz but what i really wana know is what i can overclock to so i can run my PC 24/7 at the max ghz without the chance of me burning it out or breaking something.

i suppose id aim for 2.8 per core and maybe 211mhz on 2-3-2-5 on my ram as i would probly be happy with this to start and play some games and stuff.

im not really interested in OCing for like 4 hours worth of benchmarks im more interested in Ocing and making it more of a longterm OC

if u get what i mean?

thanks

While you will read about those with the 3.0ghz dual cores not many of those really run on air cooling. Probably even less run 24/7 at those speeds but I'm sure a few really do. Do a search for the results of 4800+ overclocks and most seem to peak at around 2.8 for 24/7 operation with 1.4-1.5 volts applied. I have really only seen a couple that hit 3.0 and usually require more like 1.6 volts which isn't good on air cooling since the heat from the big dual cores is pretty intense. There is however nothing cast in stone and each chip seems to be a little different so your results might be better or worse. The only way to find out is to spend a little time reading the stickie guides and then see what yours will do. I run my machines 24/7 and usually will do some bench test higher but rarely do I apply extra voltage and settle for an overclock that runs at default voltage.

I'm running my X2 3800+ at 2.7Ghz 24/7 with no problems so far. It takes quite a few volts though. I am using an SI-120 drawing air directly from outside the case (side fan right on top of it).

Guest thespin

2.7ghz should be okay long term. You won't get many X2 chips much higher anyway ...

Gotamd: