alt-method for measuring CPU temps

hey, guys! i've been using a dual-core opty 175 in my expert board for almost 2 months now. this board has been rock solid in that time, the only problem is both the BIOS and ITE report my cpu idle temp at 139C. that is not a typo. i've been doing a lot of searching and i can't find anyone else with the same problem. i've tried both official BIOSes released to date, to no avail.

i attribute this to using an unsupported cpu on the board. the board has been so good, i didn't bother with an RMA but i do need a way to accurately read my CPU temps. i know there are diodes you can tape to the side of the heat spreader but how accurate are these? what is the best way for me to keep an eye on temps?

Guest Scarface

well, the only place you'd be able to tape that diode is on the outter vertical edge of the IHS and being there the temps wouldn't be very accurate at all. But on the other hand they would be more accurate than 139c.

Would it be possible that the (1)39c is really 39c? *shrugs*

Would it be possible that the (1)39c is really 39c? *shrugs*
maybe. actually, i think the reading is shown like this in the BIOS:

(-) 139C

and ITE just says 139C. i dunno. *shrugs* i didn't worry about cuz i thought there were other ways- maybe even more accurately- to measure it.

Guest Scarface

there are but it would have to be touching the edge of the naked core.

my guess is the diode taped onto the edge of the IHS would be off like 10c. worth a shot. mine comes in very handy and they're cheap. atm it's stuck on one of the mosfet heatsinks. :-)

CompuNurse is what you should look for.

http://www.frozencpu.com/scan/se=Thermal/s...enu_search.html

But anyway - what should be the normal average temp of Venice 3500+ with SI-120???

Cause I've got about 25-29*C with Diode read and in the BIOS, and strangly 70*C with non-Diode readings.

The Cooler is about 30*C - warm, but not hot. But it's a cooler not the core...