A real newbie question

jskudera

I've got the printout of the sticky with the overclocking pdf on it. I'm at the part where I begin changing my bios settings -- all those are changed, but a couple things.

CPU VID Control suggests the voltage to use. I have an Opteron 148 939 CPU, not sure where this falls in line to. I don't see any options in my BIOS to raise the voltage to over 1.5 (maybe I'm in the wrong area?). Also, I'm kind of lost where it tells me to raise the HTT/FSB in 10-15MHz increments. I do not see anything in BIOS that will allow me to do increments like that.

Yes, I'm an overclocking newbie, but please help =]

Okay, well I found out where to change the HTT/FSB (I just overlooked it) but do you think the max voltage I can do is 1.5v? right now it's at 1.360 running 210.1 x 11.0 for 2310.7mhz - running Super PI 32M. CPU is running at 46C -- can get it down to about 42C with the side of the case open. I only have an 80mm case fan in the back. Think if I upgrade to 120mm it'll improve it with the case closed? I don't really care about the noise, I just want a good fan that will help reduce my temp. I was told 50C and above is getting too warm for these CPUs

http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/showpost.p...431&postcount=2

This shows pics of the Genie Bios section you should be in to change voltages.

The nominal CPU VID on the 148 opties is 1.3-1.4v. Your system may be in Auto. You will have to select it and the optional voltages will show.

The CPU VID Special Control allows you to select a % additional to the base cpu voltage you select in the CPU VID ie 1.35v CPU VID with a 110% CPU VID Special would be 1.35v x 110% ergo 1.485v. It would be helpful to know what stepping your Opteron is. Those are the letters and numbers marking the processor IHS.