Windows XP freeze up during boot

Hello guys !

I just got my new DFI motherboard today, so I guess I'm a newbie to these forums and DFI boards in general. My old MSI K8 Neo2 Platinum board died a couple of days ago (don't ask me why, done all kinds of tests but it's just dead). So I replaced both the PSU and the motherboard today (got a new OCZ Modstream 520W psu).

Anyways, I haven't installed anything new on the board (running nForce 5.11, Windows XP SP1, directX 9.0c). Basically 100% the same setup as on the MSI rig - not running any MSI related programs as they are all uninstalled (bios updates, etc.). I read that there were issues when using SATA 1 & 2, so I'm currently only using SATA 3 & 4 on the DFI board.

First time I booted up I used Windows XP just as before, I had it running for about 30 - 45 minutes before it freezed (total lock up - no bluescreen). After that it now freezes on the "Windows XP" logo startupscreen. After about 15 - 20 resets I've only made it into Windows XP 2 times, and it only lasted 2 - 5 minutes before a total freeze. I get no error report at all from the system when I get in.

I'm able to enter i safemode (I'm prompted for it after a freeze) without any freeze it seems (didn't stick around longer them max 5 minutes, but had no problems).

Temperatures are no problems. CPU is doing a mere 37 degrees celcius, GPU is at around 45.

I currently run only SP1 because SP2 seriously screwed up my old system. This was related to the 1st edition of my MSI K8 Neo2 board (for all I know, SP2 runs smoothly on this new DFI board .... ).

Basically what I'm wondering about is this;

- Does anyone know what might be wrong and the reason for the freezes in XP ? :confused:

Do you recomend that I do a total re-install of the entire system ?

If yes, should I go SP1 or SP2 (win XP) ? nForce 5.10 or 5.11 ? Anything else I should consider ? Is there pherhaps a bios that works better with my CPU and current setup ?