New system – how far can I push it?

neverfail

Hello DFI Gurus / DFI community,

This is my first post - just before I carry on, may I congratulate DFI on the quality of their products and this open forum for enthusiasts. Well done!

Anyhow, I am a DFI rookie and just built myself a new system (see signature).

I have spent the last couple of weeks by reading through numerous posts and judging how wise my choice of components was. I have reached a conclusion that I am probably OK with all the components to start climbing the Overclocking Mountain, apart from CPU cooler, which I think is not so brilliant if not a little awkward. I do not really want to use water-cooling yet; whatever the alternative, it will need to be air-cooling.

I use my PC to play chess on the Internet against other machines; therefore I have very little if no need at all for 3D performance – all I am after is to be able to fine-tune my machine to achieve maximum possible clock speed and memory bandwidth. It will also need to be stable at full steam for at least 8 hours – last tournament I played in took 5 calendar days @ 12 hours per day (although with 15-20 minute breaks).

So, just before I will start to spend 4-10 days of my time and execute 500 re-boots to find the “sweet spot” [thanks to AngryGames] and risk burning £550-worth of CPU, I wanted to ask the experts, who may already be familiar or already use hardware that is exact to mine, the following two questions:

- How far do you think I can push my kit in terms of MHz and memory speed?

- What kind of air-cooling should I use to get there?

Many thanks in advance to those of you who will answer.

Regards

In general (though i advise you to go through the guides) you should be able to set your HTT (FSB) from 200 > 250 while leaving your CPU multiplier and HTT multiplier alone. you would probably need to increase your CPU voltage a bit to around 1.4v in order to run this stable.